ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: I'm new, HELP!  (Read 3081 times)

Zach Parkscott

I'm new, HELP!
« on: October 29, 2005, 01:42:00 PM »

Hi there.  First of all i am new to this site and forum sites in general, so any tips for anything would be great! haha.

So, I am in a band thats just getting going.  We are in the hunt for PA system.  In our hunt we were directed here.  We have a very small budget (like many young bands) of $2000 CDN.  So far we have been directed to these products:

QSC RMX1850HD
A Mackie or Yamaha MG series mixing board
A pair of Yamaha S115V speakers

I am looking for opinions on these products, and opinions on my situation in general.And I am an EXTREME NEWBIE! to this world of PA systems etc. So feel free to tell me anything and everything!  I'm here to get educated!

Thanks for your comments!

Mac Kerr

• SR Forums
Re: I'm new, HELP!
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2005, 01:51:14 PM »

The first suggestion would be to read the existing information on these forums. There are hundreds of pages covering may topics. You can use the search function to narrow down the number of pages you need to read. There have been many discussions in the recent past on all of the equipment you are interested in. There are always differences of opinion, but by reading what everyone says you can make a, hopefully, informed decision. You should also read the posting rules at the top of each forum that clearly state that you need to use your whole real name as your alias.

Mac

Zach Parkscott

« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2005, 01:58:44 PM »

Thanks for the advice.

Zach Parkscott

« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2005, 02:22:49 PM »

Whats the JBL and yorkville equivalent to the Yamaha S115V?

Andy Spalla

• http://www.spallasound.com
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2005, 02:32:35 PM »

Go for the Yamaha MG board. I have one and it's great.
-Andy Spalla