ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: NSI/Microplex over DMX cable question...  (Read 2392 times)

Alan Hamilton

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 341
NSI/Microplex over DMX cable question...
« on: October 13, 2005, 04:31:52 pm »

Are there any problem(s), or is it possibly advantageous, to use DMX wire for NSI/LMX/Microplex protocol controllers and dimmers?

...especially thinking in the context of an installation where the system could be upgraded to DMX in the future and the DMX wire already be in place.

-AlanH

Logged
When I think of a witty saying I will put it here. Please note that my sig space is for rent Smile
http://www.HamiltonSystems.us

Tom Delay

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 160
Re: NSI/Microplex over DMX cable question...
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2005, 06:40:29 pm »

didn't you answer your own question?
Logged

Craig Leerman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1389
    • http://www.techworksvegas.com
Re: NSI/Microplex over DMX cable question...
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2005, 06:50:10 pm »

I would think that if the Microplex signal works over crappy mic cables, it should do better over good wire!

Craig
Logged
I'm so old, when I was doing FOH for Tommy Dorsey, to balance out the horn section I would slide their chairs downstage and upstage to mix!


Alan Hamilton

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 341
Re: NSI/Microplex over DMX cable question...
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2005, 07:27:04 pm »

Craig Leerman wrote on Thu, 13 October 2005 23:50

I would think that if the Microplex signal works over crappy mic cables, it should do better over good wire!

Craig


See... that's what I thought but I thought maybe I should make sure I wasn't missing something obvious or a fly in the ointment.

-AlanH
Logged
When I think of a witty saying I will put it here. Please note that my sig space is for rent Smile
http://www.HamiltonSystems.us

Adam Ellsworth

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 63
Re: NSI/Microplex over DMX cable question...
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2005, 06:34:45 pm »

I wouldn't even use any sort of grease or ointment in mic cables OR DMX cables.

...But seriously, good question since the Ohmage (impedance?) is different on DMX cables, but an installer guru here should hopefully be able to stop in and call it trivial. I just can't say with any technical evidence even though it "obviously" will work. It's possible your maximum run length could be affected. Otherwise you're wise to plan for future growth.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.053 seconds with 18 queries.