ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Ideas to test new sound guy  (Read 4312 times)

andrew gissing

• http://www.stylusra.com.au
Ideas to test new sound guy
« on: August 29, 2004, 08:45:08 PM »

I'm a pro engineer and got involved with this church 2 years ago.

In two years there has been only me and him to do two services a day. He's not had much training but it was better than nothing.

Now that i've managed to get a 3rd guy on the team, we've got some slack. I'm now addressing the concerns of muso's that the other guy needs more training - he's not quite there.

I've also hired this guy on a casual basis to do gigs with me & my PA - so he's getting some experience there too.

But.. from being with this guy what i've learned is that he does know quite a bit about sound, knowledable about technical do's and don'ts etc.

What is to his disadvantage is that he's a bit slow in the head, and he doesn't handle stress very well.

I really want to work with him here - I can see this diamond sitting in him that's covered in layers of carbon. I need to work out how to bring the diamond out.

Our church meets in a 1200 seat school auditorium and as such we've got to setup from scratch every sunday morning. I've done the following: Wireless mic not turned on, On but mute still on, no battery, even miming in front of the mic <grin>.. plugging cables in incorrectly, putting lead into speakon plug but not twisting, turning amps on but not up.. and even grabbing the main graphic faders during soundcheck and turning off whist he was elsewhere.

And he's coped with all of that - most of that was in one service too !

So... my current path is to try and figure out how to stress him out and gain experience in handling that.

Any ideas - or other paths to take ?

Many thanks,

Andrew