ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Help wiring up Neutrik 1/4" TRS for inserts  (Read 13298 times)

eclectic-ken

Help wiring up Neutrik 1/4" TRS for inserts
« on: August 22, 2004, 11:58:05 AM »

Hi everyone,

Well, I'm pretty new to DIY install issues and I thought I was being pretty smart  Embarassed  ording a bunch of 22awg gepco cable and neutrik trs and xlr connectors (for the install of our NEW A&H GL3300!!).  BUT, I'm looking at the TRS connectors (NP3C) and I don't see a contact for the shield strand--I expected to find three contacts (tip, ring, sleeve), but I just see two and then the bottom half of the plug?  Did I get the right connector?  I looked at the Neutrik website, but no real help there.  Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Ken Truitt
Ken Truitt

Tim Padrick

Re: Help wiring up Neutrik 1/4" TRS for inserts
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2004, 11:52:25 PM »

The "lower part of the plug" is the shield contact.  This is very handy, as it allows even large shields (once twisted) to fit with room to spare.  It also allows you flexibility in how you dress the leads out.  I love 'em.

Please note that on the compressor end, you only need connect the shield in one of the cables.

I don't make a "wye" style cable.  I run a single 2 conductor shielded cable from the TRS to TS #1 and connect the shield and the tip lead in that one.  Within that connector I solder a length of inshielded 20 gauge wire to the ring lead and heat-shrink it.  This runs out the strain relief with the main cable, and solders to the tip of TS #2.  It does not have any strain relief, but so far I have had no failures and everything has worked noise free.

eclectic-ken

« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2004, 08:29:46 PM »