ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Down

Author Topic: LAB-sub based on 18” seismic driver.  (Read 13915 times)

Mike W

Re: LAB-sub based on 18” seismic driver.
« Reply #20 on: December 16, 2005, 08:36:44 AM »

Hi Walt,

Nice to see the Quake popping up again!  Sadly, you are slightly incorrect - although the drive unit within the Quake is built by Precision Devices, it is not an 1850.  It is based around a 5" voice coil motor system, but has been modified by our R&D department to match the horn flare within the Quake.  

All the best,

Mike
Mike R Wheeler

Director, Production & Logistics
EM Acoustics Loudspeakers
www.emacoustics.co.uk

Mark "Bass Pig" Weiss

• http://www.basspig.com
Re: 18” seismic driver.
« Reply #21 on: May 16, 2006, 04:29:24 AM »

It's been a half a year since I posted my original questions about these drivers. And now I have some experience with a particular variety of them, the CGN-1808, with the dual-layer honeycomb reinforced fiberglass cones.
I purchased some previously owned demo units, which have been through the gamut of power levels over an extended period.
Now that the units are here, I have had an opportunity to disassemble them and inspect the construction, glues, materials and overall design quality of the drivers.
They are utilitarian in design--that is to say, their form follows function and there is no cosmetic frill in the design of the driver.
I have tested the sensitivity at 1W against the EVX-180Bs that I also utilize as midbass drivers, and they straddle the line +/-1dB of the 180Bs, so I'd say they are roughly the same sensitivity, or slightly more sensitive at the lower frequencies.