ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: any input about electronic variable acoustic systems  (Read 9350 times)

Aaron J. Percy

any input about electronic variable acoustic systems
« on: March 22, 2005, 02:54:43 PM »

Hello all, I am interested in these elctronic variable acoustic systems such as the one by LCS and Yamaha.  If anyone has any firsthand info to share that would be great.
Peace,  Aaron

Tom Young

Re: any input about electronic variable acoustic systems
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2005, 08:17:32 AM »

I have considerable experience with these.

What do you want to know ?
Tom Young
Electroacoustic Design Services
Oxford CT
Tel: 203.888.6217
Email: dbspl@earthlink.net
www.dbspl.com

Aaron J. Percy

« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2005, 10:19:29 AM »

I am interested in your opinion of the believability of the reverb tail.  I am a recording engineer and am used to having full control at my fingertips, these systems seem like another tool I could use to enhance the experience at my church.  Our current room does not function well for organ and choral music, hand-bells, or as a space for the "rock" band of our contemporary service.  I am interested in possibly designing my own system but I am having a difficult time finding information about the actual setup of the mic/speaker matrix, the formulas used to devise the DSP settings.  I realize that this a big part of the system and would be considered a secret, but any info you might have in regard to this would further my understanding.  Thanks
Peace,  Aaron

Tom Young

« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2005, 02:16:33 PM »

I recommend that you read articles, papers and promo by the folks at Jaffe Holden Acoustics, LARES Associates, SIAP, Yamaha, LCS and 1-2 others I cannot immediately recall but who have pioneered or developed such systems.