ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Lighting Newbie Needs Advice  (Read 1583 times)

AMonline

Lighting Newbie Needs Advice
« on: March 20, 2005, 12:52:23 AM »

I am a total newbie to lighting so please have patience with me.

I am currently in a new 5 piece variety band. I use a Roland TD-20 drum module live and would like to build a light system based around midi via this module or our keyboard sequencer. (we'll talk about stand alone modules as well if advised)

Starting from scratch, I am interested in products like the Chauvet Trackscans (barrel) and Mini Legend Washes. I’m also looking at the inexpensive route such as Insignia Scanners, Omega 250C’s and Stage Washes. (I am open to other brands as well) As far as budget goes, I’m looking for the best bang for the buck. However, I don’t mind spending 3-4 grand if it’s very worth it in result. I feel that all we need at this time is a couple of stage washes in place of pars and I'd like two intelli-lights (barrel scans) and up to four (possibly yoke) color changers.

I would like to be able to make light shows for our sets/songs at home on computer or a typical rack mount DMX controller and save/run them via midi from my module or keyboard sequence in the live environment. I understand there are midi-capable controllers but I need to know if I can midi out from my sequencer to the controller for running the show? If so, does this all take place on one channel or multiple channels to the controller for controlling multiple lights?

I am totally new to this and would like guidance in the right direction for everything I need from opinions on lights, controllers, etc. (pretty much - I need to know about everything but truss) (also, do I need dimmers? or is that pars only?)