ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 208 Amperage issues  (Read 3545 times)

Dave Sturzenbecher

208 Amperage issues
« on: December 30, 2004, 01:01:57 am »

Hi guys
I got some issued that haven’t yet caused problems.  Just for giggles the other day I took some amperage readings at the point where my distro plugs into an outlet.  

First off, before I plugged the unit in to the outlet, I checked the voltage across all terminals, in all possible combinations. 210 across hots, 120 from each hot to neutral and from each hot to ground, nothing between ground and neutral.  (Essentially three prong plug with ground clamped to conduit).

Ok, here is the issue, when I took measurements I got 15amps on each of the hots and 30 amps on the neutral.  This kinda scared me.  Now, im not an electrician, but last time I checked that should be a lot closer to zero.

Our Distro was constructed by a certified election, but then rewired when the users of the distro certified that the distro wired wrong.  It was rewired over 6 years ago, and has yet to have a documented problem.  I don’t have a direct picture of the distro.  But the distro has two 208 outlets on it that feed the 2 amp racks (picture x 2).  The amp racks were not wired by an electrician, but by a person certified to teach electricity in a classroom setting (high school). So im pretty sure he knew what was up.  The 208 out of the wall is 2 legs out of a three phase panel.  

Any ideas of what might be up? Thank you
index.php/fa/888/0/

Simon-ETEC

Re: 208 Amperage issues
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2004, 10:43:58 am »