ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Question about zone mixers.  (Read 4327 times)

Joel Smith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Question about zone mixers.
« on: December 13, 2004, 05:13:57 pm »

   I have recently been presented with a problem by one of our
hotel clients.  His system is set up where one giant ballroom is split into 4 zones (A B C and D) with one XLR input on the wall of each zone.
  He would like to have a system where he could operate
each zone independantly but simultaneously and in any combination.  In other words, he would like to have 4 separate
shows going on in four separate rooms at the same time, but
perhaps at another time he would like to have a show going on in
zone A while another show goes on in B C and D combined, etc.  
Could someone please recommend a piece of cost effective
equipment that would accomplish this.  
   If it is possible the system when finished would need to be somewhat idiot proof...lol.  

Thanks

   
   
   
     
Logged

Tony Grimwood

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 202
Re: Question about zone mixers.
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2004, 06:13:48 pm »

Sounds like something like a dbx ZonePro 640 with the appropriate remote panels would do this job nicely.


http://www.dbxpro.com/


Tony
Logged
Quis custodiet ipsos custodies?

Joel Smith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Question about zone mixers.
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2004, 07:19:23 pm »

Thanks for the info, thats looks like exactly what I need.  It looks like if I use the ZC8 wall panels then I should be all set.  

Let me make sure my thinking is correct.  Take zone A for example.  I would want to program the wall panel in zone A to select between mic input A, A+B, A+B+C, and A+B+C+D. That way they can get what they want by simply selecting it on each wall panel and setting the volume accordingly.  Correct?

Should I have some sort of way to mute each zone on the panel?

Also, if I need to, is there a way to get more than 4 presets on each wall panel?  Like if they wanted to hook up a radio or something.
 
How much should I pay for one dbx640?  Also, how much should I pay per ft. for CAT5 cable?

Thanks for your help. I only ask for the prices cause I dont want to get screwed.  All your info is very much appreciated.
Logged

Tony Grimwood

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 202
Re: Question about zone mixers.
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2004, 12:00:00 am »

The ZonePro can be programmed to do what you mentioned in your post. I can't help you out with example prices as we are in different countries - maybe someone from the US could suggest...?

cheers,
Tony
Logged
Quis custodiet ipsos custodies?

Joel Smith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Question about zone mixers.
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2004, 03:37:26 pm »

On second thought I dont think the Zonepro will not be what I need seeing as it only has 2 mic level inputs.  Does anyone know of something similar that has 4 mic level inputs?
Logged

Matt Lillie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 139
Re: Question about zone mixers.
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2004, 04:30:01 pm »

Logged

George Blun

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 88
Re: Question about zone mixers.
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2004, 05:14:41 pm »

Take a look at http://www.eawcommercial.com/en/products/digital/

It is a programable matrix that will allow you any combination of inputs to any cobination of outputs. All buttons on the room controls can be pre-programmed to do what you are looking for.

Logged

Mike Pyle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2485
Re: Question about zone mixers.
« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2004, 03:50:19 pm »

Logged
Mike Pyle
Audiopyle Sound
707-315-6204
Dealer: Yorkville, EV, QSC, RCF, KV2, FBT, EAW, Danley, SLS, Turbosound, dBTech
 APB,A&H,Audix,Shure,Powersoft,RoadReady,K&M,Ultimate ,Global Truss,DENON,Chauvet,Elation...

Andrew Moyer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 63
Re: Question about zone mixers.
« Reply #8 on: December 27, 2004, 10:49:54 pm »

I would suggest either a dbx ZonePro 640 & 641 (or two 640s or 641s) with the ZC controller or spend a little extra and get a BSS Soundweb 9088iis with 1 mic/line card and 1 line card.  

With the Zonepro you need two units to get the 4 mic inputs you require but I think you will get better control and flexibility out of the Soundweb.  There are many options for control with the Soundweb but it will pay off in the end.

Andrew
Logged

Robb Blumenreder

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 120
    • http://www.sennheiserusa.com
Re: Question about zone mixers.
« Reply #9 on: December 30, 2004, 09:51:07 am »

** Trying to not make this sound like a sales pitch... but judging on what you're looking for, we might have a solution for you... ** (board moderator, please let me know if this is not "good practice")

The DigiPAGE unit by Australian Monitor will likely fit the bill, but might be overkill for the application.  This piece has six (6) mic/line inputs that are routable to any of it's 8 Zones - each zone can have it's own "local" mic with a remote wall panel that allows it to be enabled, adjust volume, etc... you can find more info here:

http://www.australianmonitor.com.au/pdfs/colour/Zone_Solutio ns.pdf

Best of luck with your search and install

Robb Blumenreder
Sennheiser Electronic Corp
Distributors of Australian Monitor
Logged
Robb Blumenreder
Sennheiser Electronic Corporation
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.025 seconds with 18 queries.