ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Sound system for Basketball Gym  (Read 17371 times)

M256

Sound system for Basketball Gym
« on: November 26, 2004, 04:15:23 pm »

Let me start off by saying I am new to sound.  I've been assigned the project of figuring out the sound system for a new basketball gym.
The budget for the project is $2,000.

The current plan is to get something that will play CD's while people play basketball (no spectators).  The size of the gym is 65 feet x 100 feet.  Ceiling is 22 feet.  

Pictures:
http://www.osbornewood.com/ee/sound.cfm

An added complication: there are several rooms in the back that need sound.
Three need stereo:
30 x 23
29 x 19
13 x 23

Also there are two rooms that don't need stereo:
13 x 23
14 x 23

Can somebody give me some advice about how to proceed?

Thank you,

Matthew

Rob Timmerman

Re: Sound system for Basketball Gym
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2004, 05:42:28 pm »

Step 1:
Get a realistic budget for your project.  $2k will be tight for just the gym itself, in mono.  Forget the other rooms and forget about stereo unless you can get a realistic budget.

Remember that you need speakers, amps, CD player, mixer, racks, wire, connectors, mounting brackets, wire, conduit, and a few other things.  And don't forget to cover labor costs.

Karl P(eterson)

« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2004, 06:25:12 pm »

First off, you do need a realistic budget. You (almost) have to forget 2k (even for mono - youll need higher quality/better dispersion speakers for that space because it will be acoustical hell). 4k would most likely get you the gym (sans install) albiet at a bit of give and take. Id say that with 1.5~3k'ish (depending on quality and volume level desired of sub rooms) you could get the other rooms.

Karl P
TeamLeader.Technical Systems - CCH

M256

« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2004, 06:46:23 pm »