ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Which amp???  (Read 2451 times)

Jamin Lynch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 784
Which amp???
« on: October 11, 2004, 05:30:19 pm »

I'm currently using a single Crown CE4000 to run a pair of JBL SR4719X dual 18 subs. 1200watts per channel 4ohm stereo. I'm usually pushing the amp to the limit most of the time. So, I'm wanting to up grade the power. I really like Crown and the CE4000. I can get another 4000 and run mono bridge (1 per box) but that will be 6 rack spaces all together and add an additional 38 lbs. Plus I will need to add another circuit. I thought about a couple of QSC PLX2402 mono bridged, but that would be about the same price as one IT4000 and I would still have to add another circuit. The IT4000 runs on a 20amp breaker, is 2 rack spaces and only about 30 lbs. Would a Crown I-Tech 4000 or 6000 be overkill?  Confused I'm open for suggestions.

Thanks

Jamin
Logged

Tim Padrick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5008
Re: Which amp???
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2004, 11:58:46 pm »

I can't imagine anything giving you more power per amp of mains power than a pair of bridged CE4000s - at least not anything that does not cost a couple of limbs.  You won't be pushing the CEs all that hard as far as continuous power goes, as those drivers go into serious power compression pretty early.  I don't think you'll need to worry about needing another circuit.

Elliot Thompson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1573
Re: Which amp???
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2004, 05:48:25 am »

If you can afford the I Tech 4/6000, go for it.
The amplifier will be loafing on 4 ohms per channel,
where as, two CE 4000, will be under more stress
in 4 ohms bridged.

You can move the CE 4000, to your mids.
Logged
Elliot

Douglas Johnson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 392
    • http://www.timberwoodsound.com
Re: Which amp???
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2004, 04:15:05 pm »

I can relate to your problem.  I just upgraded to TX9's from some smaller boxes increasing my power requirements from 1200 to 2000 watts a side.  After much thought I ended up going with 2 Crown xs900's running bridged.  This gives me 2500 watts per side@ 4 ohms, although if you don't need quite as much power you could go with a pair of xs500 at 1900 a side at 4.  At a total of 4 racks spaces and I think 56 pounds I have been quite pleased. I've been using a xs 500 and 1200 on my tops for about 5 months with good results as well.
I did my first outdoor gig that I had the opportunity to open up my system two weeks ago.  Even though the gennie people screwed me on circuits, I was quite pleased with the performance. I ran my tops (xs500 and xs1200), foh, and stage on one twenty amp circuit and the subs (2 x xs900) and monitors (2 x PB2) on another without tripping a breaker all day.
doug j.
Logged

Jamin Lynch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 784
Re: Which amp???
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2004, 06:55:34 pm »

I'm using a CE4000 for the lows, another CE4000 on the mids and a CE2000 for highs, all on one 20amp circuit pushed pretty hard and never tripped a breaker. Sounds really good, just need more on the bottom end. The sub amp is at its limit most of the time. I'm afraid if I add another 4000 to the lows, especially mono bridged, I will have to separate out something to another breaker. It's not that big of a problem to do but, I'd like to keep the number of circuits needed to a minimum. Plus like I said this will take 3 more rack spaces and adds 38 more lbs. I'm just wondering if all the bells and whistles that comes with the ITech series is overkill for a small system like this. Has anybody used an ITech on a similar system?
Logged

Elliot Thompson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1573
Re: Which amp???
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2004, 10:28:21 pm »

The I Tech is your answer.

It just doesn't make sense to buy another CE
4000, when an I Tech 4/6000 will do the job of
two CE 4000's bridged, in stereo mode.

You'll have a rocking little rig, having one
I Tech 4/6000 on the lows, and, a CE 4000 for
the Mid - Hi's.

I don't see why you would think otherwise......
Logged
Elliot
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.069 seconds with 21 queries.