ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 70-volt audio distribution  (Read 3576 times)

Nate B.

70-volt audio distribution
« on: October 05, 2004, 08:08:31 PM »

I'm a FOH/recording tech at a rock club, not an electrical engineer Embarassed

We want to install a three zone playback system that would be fed by a single stereo source. Each zone would be controled from a central mixer as well as passive volume pots in each zone.

We would desire good sound quality at fairly loud (shout-over not dance club) volume.

My original proposal used traditional stereo power amps.

I know nothing about 70-volt audio distribution systems or if one would be appropriate for this application.

We're trying to keep cost as low as possible. Any suggestions?

Stephen Askins

Re: 70-volt audio distribution
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2004, 11:34:35 PM »

Hi,
  70v or 100v Distributed Systems are great if you need to install numerous Speakers.  I suppose the first question is how many Speakers will you need in each Zone and what quality are you after? Generally speaking, the quality of sound with 70v or 100v systems it hugely dependant on the quality of the Transformer. If you do use this type of system ensure you stick with reputable brands.  Also make sure you have plenty of Headroom and you are evenly covering the nominated area !