ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What Consoles will fit?  (Read 4951 times)

Kurt Rivers

What Consoles will fit?
« on: September 16, 2004, 05:26:15 PM »

At a place where I am a audio engineer the console is really going dead. It's a Soundtracs Megas 40ch 8 bus. Last night the channel 1(kick) would not work in the L+R bus or busses 1-2. Their where a few others having bus problems too. We are running 4 mon send on it now and their are always problems with some things not working some to much. It looks like it is going to die in the next month or so so I'm out looking at consoles to get some ideas. It's actually a gym with a big theater like stage in the wall. We could really use more monitor mixes and maybe 1 or 2 headphone/IEM mixes. The band is normally....
1 drums
1 bass
2 guitar
2 keyboards
4 back up vox
2 main vox

But things change every week so their could be half that many or alot more. Sometimes theater like shows are held here also for kids and sermons. So some type of scene automation would make set up a breeze.

Now here's the kicker... The FOH booth is real small. The Soundtracs 40*8 just fits in their and it's a pretty narrow console for a 40*8.

I'm thinking the budget is around 20-30k so what first came in mind was a Allen and Heath ML4000 or ML5000 but then their is no way a 40ch model would fit in the booth. One thing I thing that would work GREAT is the yamaha PM5D because I could set all the channels for the different events and all the built in control but it's pretty high for are budget and I think I would have to be their at every event to run it because those other people would just be lost with it.

So what are some other ideas?

Mac Kerr

• SR Forums
Re: What Consoles will fit?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2004, 05:49:24 PM »

Kurt wrote on Thu, 16 September 2004 17:26

snip