ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Do you use your powerlites at 2 ohms?  (Read 3816 times)

(Brian) Frost

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 348
Do you use your powerlites at 2 ohms?
« on: July 09, 2004, 04:14:52 am »

My usual system is a nexo rig running my powerlites at 4 ohms.  They run great and sound great like that.  I just acquired 2 pair of 4 ohm JBL's for bigger gigs.  QSC says its ok, anyone in the real world run 2 4 ohm speakers per side on a powerlite amp?
Frost
Owner, Narnia Productions
Logged
Frost

Owner, Narnia Productions

www.NarniaProductions.com

Chicago IL


Good is good but not as good as better

Hasse Queisser

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 456
    • http://www.technosound.se
Re: Do you use your powerlites at 2 ohms?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2004, 05:37:56 am »

In my experience the Powerlites have no problems what so ever to run 2 ohm loads.

/ Hasse
Logged
Never underestimate the power of very stupid people in large groups.

Andrew S

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
    • http://www.midwaymusic.com
Re: Do you use your powerlites at 2 ohms?
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2004, 08:02:36 am »

We run almost all of ours a 2 ohms, most of the time.  PL 4.0, PL 236, PL 224, PL 1.8, PLX3402, PLX 2402...no problems yet.  Just got in two of the Crest 9200s to replace the 4.0s. It seems fine a 2 ohms as well!

Andrew
Logged
Andrew Swanson
Midway Music
www.midwaymusic.com

Jim Brooks

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 218
Re: Do you use your powerlites at 2 ohms?
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2004, 08:22:36 am »

I designed my system that way.
A 4.0 on my subs .
A 4.0 on the low's.
All at 2 ohms a channel.
4.0 on the mids.
1.00 on th hi's.
It does take two 20 amp circuits to power the rack to full.

Jim Brooks
casperband.com
Logged

Steve Payne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 758
    • http://soundworksva.com
Re: Do you use your powerlites at 2 ohms?
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2004, 09:44:21 am »

Powerlites laugh at 2 ohms.  
Logged
steve

"My favorite things turn money into noise"

"Too much power is just right", - Carroll Shelby

Hasse Queisser

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 456
    • http://www.technosound.se
Re: Do you use your powerlites at 2 ohms?
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2004, 12:49:50 pm »

steve wrote on Fri, 09 July 2004 15:44

Powerlites laugh at 2 ohms.  


That's right, they actually do  Smile

I've heard of two instances where PL-9.0's have been driven into 1 ohm loads. One was a stagehand mistake that wasn't discovered until after the show, the other on purpose more or less just to see if it worked (the guy was a bit short on amps). The amps apparently didn't even run much hotter than normal. If they would have measured distortion it might have been a bit above the usual, but to the ear there wasn't a difference  Very Happy

/ Hasse
Logged
Never underestimate the power of very stupid people in large groups.

Jens Droessler

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 350
Re: Do you use your powerlites at 2 ohms?
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2004, 01:18:45 pm »

@ Frost: Are you planing to run those JBLs along with your Nexo rig (whatever that may be)?
Logged
"The man who trades freedom for security does not deserve nor will he ever receive either."

Gilligan┬╣

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Do you use your powerlites at 2 ohms?
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2004, 04:58:55 pm »

Add one more happy PL user that ran 2 ohms...  In my last band we ran 2 PL 2.4mb's (perfect amp for our setup!) at 2ohms everynight.  We never had any problems and I have since left the band but I'm sure they are still running the same setup going on 5+ Years of about 4 gigs a week on average.  I pushed them hard and they never complained... I watched them constantly and often checked them for heat and they never had any problems.  I love the Power Lites and would recommend them to anyone!

Just another .02 cents!
Gilligan
Logged

(Brian) Frost

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 348
Re: Do you use your powerlites at 2 ohms?
« Reply #8 on: July 12, 2004, 01:51:12 pm »

No I will be using them seperately.  the Nexo rigs are 2 ps15 per side or 2 ps 10 per side with meyer subs.  I am putting together a loud JBL rig  for cheap gigs that dont require the nice stuff.  
Frost
Logged
Frost

Owner, Narnia Productions

www.NarniaProductions.com

Chicago IL


Good is good but not as good as better

Simon Stavenuiter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 125
    • http://www.simonstav.com
Re: Do you use your powerlites at 2 ohms?
« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2004, 05:14:16 am »

I run my PLX3402 in 4 ohm bridge mode, equivalent to 2 ohm load, to power a pair Martin Audio WSX subs per side and both the amps and subs have performed flawlessly.

Regards Simon
Logged
Regards Simon

Simon Stavenuiter Audio Production
156 Thornhill Road Highton VIC 3216
PO Box 1963 Geelong VIC 3220
M 0425 795492
P 03 52 444 141
F 03 52 444 041
SKYPE simonstav
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.071 seconds with 20 queries.