ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Technomad  (Read 3827 times)

Henry Denman

Technomad
« on: July 08, 2004, 05:19:19 PM »

I would like to get some thoughts about this manufacturer (Technomad) more specifically the Vienna and the Paris models.  The big dog who is clueless about good sounding cabnets came back from infocom giddy as a school girl about these speakers.  They don't ring a bell in my mind so I have no background info or knowledge about how they sound.  If anyone has used these before I would like to know what you think of the sound, performance, and quality of these boxes.

Thanks,
Henry

Craig Leerman

• http://www.techworksvegas.com
Re: Technomad
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2004, 06:01:25 PM »

Quote:

I would like to know what you think of the sound, performance, and quality of these boxes.

I have used, and seen these used a few times.  First off, the sound is quite good for small plastic boxes. I have heard playing background music, and at a few band concerts including one with "Sweet Honey on the Rock". For background music, they work perfectly, and sound quite good. For live music they do a very good job as well, but not as good as some other boxes I would choose in the same price range.

As for the quality of the box, they are built like tanks!  In fact, the US Military uses them for portable sound needs. The molded plastic box is very rugged, and the color goes all the way through so even a scratch or scrape does not really show up.  The boxes I have seen have a built in stand mount, as well as rugged fly hardware on them.  Also, many of there boxes have covers so you can just snap on a cover and transport them, or snap on the cover over an installed speaker for bad weather.