ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: TOV Lighting 900 watt Strobe light  (Read 2096 times)

Karl Bader

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 280
TOV Lighting 900 watt Strobe light
« on: May 14, 2004, 12:49:48 pm »

We have one of these units and well we can't get it to work via DMX. TOV has not been any help. It is 3 pin DMX, when you bring up the channels the light will work as it is supposed to and then it will not shut off until you unplug dmx control. We terminated the DMX at the strobe, the 3-5 pin DMX adapter is fine. Any ideas what it could be?

Thanks,

Karl

len woelfel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 582
    • http://www.party-chicago.com/rentals/rentals.html
Re: TOV Lighting 900 watt Strobe light
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2004, 08:24:59 am »

First thing I'd do is go to the website or manual and see if you can find the dmx values for this fixture.  It could be that "off" is not "0"

Depending on what you're using for control, I'd check first the cables and second I'd put another device on that channel instead and see if those could be the problems.

Karl Bader

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 280
Re: TOV Lighting 900 watt Strobe light
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2004, 09:23:23 am »

There was never a manual for this product. I guess cheap really means cheap. TOV just shrugged their shoulders and said I dunno.

I'm not sure what you mean by off means not 0?

The only cables used was a short adapter from 5 pin to 3 pin from the console to the light.

Thanks,

Karl

len woelfel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 582
    • http://www.party-chicago.com/rentals/rentals.html
Re: TOV Lighting 900 watt Strobe light
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2004, 02:59:04 pm »

Try doing a search online.  A lot of companies put manuals online in pdf.  The TOV site is http://www.tovlighting.com

As for not "0" not being "off" that's especially true of some oddball strobe lights.  What happens is that as you increase the value of the fader from "0" to "254" it inputs data to the fixture and it may be that to shut it off you have to go to "255" or full.  I know this doesn't make sense, but there's a lot of stuff in dmx that doesn't.  

What are you controlling it with and how many channels does it require?

Karl Bader

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 280
Re: TOV Lighting 900 watt Strobe light
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2004, 03:11:11 pm »

TOV does not have the manual online, already checked. As far as control I am using a Lightronics TL3216 console. The strobe requires 2 channels. one for intensity and one for flash rate.

Thanks,

Karl
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.037 seconds with 18 queries.