ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: LAB Sub for home use???  (Read 8510 times)

damcard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
LAB Sub for home use???
« on: April 22, 2004, 02:32:32 pm »

I am interested in building a horn sub for my home stereo/theater. I am building a pair of main round tractix horns that will use the Fostex Sigma 6.5 inch driver when ever they come off back order.  I want to use a horn to match my mains.  Will a LAB horn enclosure work in this case or will that heavy cone not be able to keep up?  The room will be about 30' x 30'.  I was planning on building two.  How low do my mains have to go, or in other words how high can I get the LAB horns to go?  Thanks.
Logged

Michael_Elliston¶

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 261
    • http://www.geocities.com/xobt
Re: LAB Sub for home use???
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2004, 10:44:05 pm »

will that heavy cone not be able to keep up?

Yes it will be able to 'keep up'

http://www.adireaudio.com/tech_papers/woofer_speed.htm

The issue of labhorns in homes have been discussed perhaps 2 dozen times.

1 with EQ or just 2 in a corner = very loud

http://db.audioasylum.com/cgi/m.mpl?forum=hug&n=50917&am p;highlight=labhorn+home+labhorn&r=&session=

http://db.audioasylum.com/cgi/search.mpl?searchtext=labhorn& amp;b=AND&topic=&topics_only=N&author=Don+Bunce& amp;date1=&date2=&slowmessage=&sort=score&so rtOrder=DESC&forum=hug

Cheers!
Logged

damcard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: LAB Sub for home use???
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2004, 01:55:44 pm »

Thanks.  Those links answered my questions.  Funny, I guess I am just incapable of doing my own searches.  (I did try)  Smile  I had already put in my request for 4 of the new B12 drivers from Wayne Parham.  Mmmmmm, two LAB horns should be nice.  My neighbors will hate me.  Twisted Evil
Logged

Brad Litz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: LAB Sub for home use???
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2004, 12:24:23 am »

I'm building a pair for my home theater. I must be nuts.
Here's a photo part way done. Still sanding the glue off before staining. Cool
index.php/fa/31/0/
Logged
Brad Litz

Timmahh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 131
    • http://www.chromepony.us
Re: LAB Sub for home use???
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2004, 11:17:31 pm »

all i have to say is DAMN BRAD, those are going to be BEAUTIFUL when you get them stained!!! i Suggest CHERRY OR WALNUT, or maybe Mahogany, but thats just me.  post a reply on how your WOOD access covers work out? what do you plan on Sealing them with?
Gr8 Job!
Timmahh
Logged
I had to do it cuz I'm Just like that!!!!!
Timmahh!!!

Brad Litz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: LAB Sub for home use???
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2004, 01:18:19 am »

I used a stain color called antique maple. I guess I picked it because the plywood is maple on the outside.
http://www.minwax.com/products/woodstain/gelstain-color.cfm

I'm going to use a tung oil finish
http://www.woodworker.com/cgi-bin/FULLPRES.exe?PARTNUM=860-0 57

I'll seal the covers with some speaker sealing caulk from Parts Express. It is a lot like Mortite non hardening caulk. I'll just put a little ring of it on the inside of the cover bolt circle. It dampens vibration, fills gaps, and I won't have to tighten the screws too tight. If I ever have to take them off I might have to put in some screws to pull with. Maybe a suction cup will work. I could put a recessed handle in them.

The covers have 16 1/4 inch screws holding each one on and they are a full 3/4 thick. They are only 14 inches in diameter at the outside. They should be fine.

My assembly pictures are here. http://www.geocities.com/hulkss/LABsubWebPhotos/

Logged
Brad Litz

Michael_Elliston¶

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 261
    • http://www.geocities.com/xobt
Re: LAB Sub for home use???
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2004, 12:50:48 am »

Funny, I guess I am just incapable of doing my own searches
half the time search engines dont even work properly  Rolling Eyes

and when your new,u dont know what to search for Razz

ive designed my own 33hz basshorn that shud fit in my car(using a lab12)

Cheers
Logged

Finn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: LAB Sub for home use???
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2004, 03:32:36 am »

hey brad, those pics look awesome!  what type of plywood did u use?  and also... the baffle boards are "V" shaped/on an angle.  what version of the lab sub is this? and are there any changes in performance?
cheers,
Finn.
Logged

damcard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: LAB Sub for home use???
« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2004, 03:45:23 pm »

Hello Brad,

I actually did find your cabinets on another post.  They look great!  Can you tell me why you opted to open the mouth to the center, or is that just for the picture?  I will try to load mine into the corner on the left and right but may stack them on one corner.
Logged

Timmahh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 131
    • http://www.chromepony.us
Re: LAB Sub for home use???
« Reply #9 on: April 27, 2004, 12:01:50 am »

As I understand it, Brad made some changes to allow for a higher cut off point,  just over 200 hrtz if I m not mistaken, it it dubbed V3 i beleive, but ofcourse, Brad would be much better suited to answer these questions, but if you do a search of the forum, you ll find much of his ponderings and such posted already, includeing this info.
Timmahh
Logged
I had to do it cuz I'm Just like that!!!!!
Timmahh!!!
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.026 seconds with 16 queries.