ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Down

Author Topic: Getting the MUD out, looking at crossovers  (Read 12261 times)

Vic Turner

• http://Detroit
Re: Getting the MUD out, looking at crossovers
« Reply #20 on: April 19, 2004, 08:29:14 PM »

How much power should they get? And what about the Nady? Why is it bad? It's a power amp, so what makes them differet, what do I look for in an amp? Keep in mind .... super noob here, I need some educating!

Fred Garrett

« Reply #21 on: April 20, 2004, 12:00:31 AM »

Power amps sound different because the manufacturers use different components, and different designs (class "H", etc) in different amps.  Even among the same brand, different series of amps will sound different.  I have QSC "EX" series and "Power Light" series, and I can hear the difference between the two, especially on bottom end (I like the Power Lights better, but the Crests still sound better than that). Durability is another factor that separates amp manufacturers.  The big amp names (Crown, Crest, QSC) are the big names because they have both sonic quality and durability. After you get your rig dialed in and you get used to it, see if you can rent one of the big name amps for a weekend, and see if you can tell the difference.  I would rent a sub amp, because I personally hear the biggest difference in amps on subs, but that is just me.

HTH!

Vic Turner

« Reply #22 on: April 20, 2004, 06:19:56 PM »

If you've decided to replace youe Carvins(I would), get the plastic out NOW!!!

A friends band were using JBL TR 225s, IMO the worst box they EVER made. It took awhile, but I convinced them to try two of their Yam sm115IV wedges on top. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

The wedges have pole cups and sound like the Yam top boxes. Best bang for the buck out there, especially at the closeout prices!