Church and H.O.W. Forums for HOW Sound and AV - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Church and HOW Forums > Church Sound Archive

New speaker system

(1/3) > >>

kevingreen:
I am a volunteer sound engineer at my church.  I have been involved in live sound for about 10 years now.  I have done a couple of installs over the years.  I got word from a staff member Sun. that we are going to try and budget in a new speaker system this year.  I wanted to get some opinions on what is working in your sanctuaries.

We are a small to mid-sized chruch with seating capacity for about 400 people.  We now have a blend of music styles.  Early service consists of about 80 people with a contemporary worship style with a full band.  Bass, 2 guitars, electric drums, keyboards, and a couple of back-up singers.  Second service is traditional with choir, piano, and organ.  We also use track music in both services.

The building is a fan shape with about a 150 degrees or so of fan from center stage.  Ceilings are about 30'.  Sanctuary depth is about 80'.  We currently have a center cluster of older EV's that were just thrown in by someone who did not care what they sold or how they installed it.  Our delay times are at about 3.5 seconds.  It is easy to spill from the choir monitors to the FOH.

I would think that something with well controlled patterns would be in order.  I am also wondering if a LCR configuration might work well for FOH and use several smaller speakers for choir coverage.

Any thoughts are welcome.  

iJam:
Kevin,
I would recommend SLS loudspeakers.  They use a ribbon driver instead of a compression driver which results in far less distortion, greater intelligibility, and consequently less listener fatigue.  What is of equal importance is their dispersion characteristics.  The dispersion of the ribbon driver expands horizontally but very little vertically.