ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Bridging Amps to Power Mains  (Read 6848 times)

Brad Weber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2209
  • Marietta, GA
Re: Bridging Amps to Power Mains
« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2011, 06:27:38 PM »

I don't think the venue would ever see using 1500w per box but it would need more than 825w. So I'm stuck with bridging the amps.
The difference between 825W and 1500W is 2.6dB with the theoretical 1m output for an ILS1594 speaker going from 124.2dB to 126.8dB.  Would less difference than that really matter?
Logged

Derek Van Winkle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Bridging Amps to Power Mains
« Reply #11 on: August 13, 2011, 08:45:55 PM »

The difference between 825W and 1500W is 2.6dB with the theoretical 1m output for an ILS1594 speaker going from 124.2dB to 126.8dB.  Would less difference than that really matter?

Very valid point!

Thanks!
Logged

Rory Buszka

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 93
  • Gearmonger
Re: Bridging Amps to Power Mains
« Reply #12 on: September 14, 2011, 09:43:00 PM »

Here's another thing to keep in mind: Bridging an amplifier increases the amount of distortion present in its output, because of tiny differences in the output stage of either channel of the amp (even within the same chassis). Distortion in the bass is less audible, so bridging is a better compromise for powering dedicated low-frequency speaker systems. However, amps are less stable in bridged mode than when driving separate loads from each channel, and can't deliver as much current into the load at high drive levels.

It sounds like the clear solution here is to run the amps in stereo.
Logged
Friends don't let friends mix a band from the stage.

The expert in anything was once a beginner.

Andre Spur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: Bridging Amps to Power Mains
« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2011, 07:45:32 AM »

Is this a practical thing to do? I've never been a big fan of it, but I just got a project that has already purchased all the amps and enclosures. The only way to effectively power the system is to bridge the amps (Crest CPX 3s) down to 4 ohms and run the enclosures (Peavey ILS 1594s) two per amp.

Any thoughts?

Bridged amps sounds better in dynamics if you do not struggle them with too low impedance loadings :-/
I always prefer bigger (especially in amplifiers) because bigger amp sounds better and has more headroom, later on the limiter the safe range can be fixed.
Some amps are already so big that do not need to bridging like this: http://www.pknc.com/3phase_eng.html
I think this level of power is more than enough even for the biggest speakers.
Logged

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7062
  • Audio Plumber
Posting Rules
« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2011, 08:24:37 AM »

Bridged amps

Please go to your profile and change the "Name" field to your real full name as required by the posting rules clearly displayed in the header at the top of the section, and in the Site Rules and Suggestions in the Forum Announcements section, and on the registration page when you registered.

Mac
Logged

Jean-Pierre Coetzee

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 862
  • Gauteng, South Africa
Re: Posting Rules
« Reply #15 on: October 07, 2011, 06:39:02 PM »

Please go to your profile and change the "Name" field to your real full name as required by the posting rules clearly displayed in the header at the top of the section, and in the Site Rules and Suggestions in the Forum Announcements section, and on the registration page when you registered.

Mac
Not to hijack the thread but is such an amp even possible, from what I see it's not released yet... Apart from that, 80A on a single phase circuit, good luck getting that without a distro...
Logged
Audio Technician
Word & Life Church

"If you want "loud", then run a piece of sheet metal through a table saw------

If you want "watts"-then plug in a toaster"
- Ivan Beaver

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Posting Rules
« Reply #15 on: October 07, 2011, 06:39:02 PM »


Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
 



Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.036 seconds with 21 queries.