ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: StageMix, AirFader or Remote desktop of Studio Manager?  (Read 8359 times)

Ade Stuart

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 118
StageMix, AirFader or Remote desktop of Studio Manager?
« on: August 04, 2011, 03:54:35 pm »

I've been using Remote Desktop and Studio Manager sporadically for a couple of years or so, mainly for initial system tweaks, EQing groups etc. for corporate gigs when the mix position is compromised. It's OK, not a great interface but it's certainly better than nothing.

I just borrowed an iPad and had my first play with StageMix and I'm impressed, the iPad approach definitely seems to be the way forward.

I've seen AirFader on youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NEZ5XZarfLs&feature=related and it looks good but I haven't used it yet. I've also just ordered a new laptop today.

Now I have a dilema. Should I update my laptop order to include a touchscreen option so I can use AirFader, save up for a iPad and have yet another thing I have to find space in a bag for, or carry on using Studio Manager?

Any user experience of AirFader or StageMix would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Ade

Logged

Bob Charest

  • Lab Lounge
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 815
  • Westbrook ME, USA
    • Bob Charest Band
Re: StageMix, AirFader or Remote desktop of Studio Manager?
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2011, 05:25:31 pm »

I've been using Remote Desktop and Studio Manager sporadically for a couple of years or so, mainly for initial system tweaks, EQing groups etc. for corporate gigs when the mix position is compromised. It's OK, not a great interface but it's certainly better than nothing.

I just borrowed an iPad and had my first play with StageMix and I'm impressed, the iPad approach definitely seems to be the way forward.

I've seen AirFader on youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NEZ5XZarfLs&feature=related and it looks good but I haven't used it yet. I've also just ordered a new laptop today.

Now I have a dilema. Should I update my laptop order to include a touchscreen option so I can use AirFader, save up for a iPad and have yet another thing I have to find space in a bag for, or carry on using Studio Manager?

Any user experience of AirFader or StageMix would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Ade
We use Airfader running on a PC conencted to the console, and run a RealVNC client on the iPad to take over the PC. Works very well for us, and the iPad really takes up very little room.

The new release of StageMix looks very good - just upgraded this week so I haven't tried it with the equipment yet.

As we also run Sennheiser's WSM and iTunes for break music on the PC I prefer the RealVNC approach so I can have everything I need in one place.

Best regards,
Bob
Logged

Ade Stuart

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 118
Re: StageMix, AirFader or Remote desktop of Studio Manager?
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2011, 07:31:08 am »

We use Airfader running on a PC conencted to the console, and run a RealVNC client on the iPad to take over the PC. Works very well for us, and the iPad really takes up very little room.

The new release of StageMix looks very good - just upgraded this week so I haven't tried it with the equipment yet.

As we also run Sennheiser's WSM and iTunes for break music on the PC I prefer the RealVNC approach so I can have everything I need in one place.

Best regards,
Bob

Thanks for the info, that sounds like a good solution.
Logged

Bob Charest

  • Lab Lounge
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 815
  • Westbrook ME, USA
    • Bob Charest Band
Re: StageMix, AirFader or Remote desktop of Studio Manager?
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2011, 05:14:36 pm »

Thanks for the info, that sounds like a good solution.
Hi Ade,
You're welcome! I had posted a step-by-step implementation in the lounge in case you find it helpful: Lounge post
« Last Edit: August 10, 2011, 05:23:10 pm by Bob Charest »
Logged

Joe Fanelli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: StageMix, AirFader or Remote desktop of Studio Manager?
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2011, 03:14:23 am »

I've been using Remote Desktop and Studio Manager sporadically for a couple of years or so, mainly for initial system tweaks, EQing groups etc. for corporate gigs when the mix position is compromised. It's OK, not a great interface but it's certainly better than nothing.

I just borrowed an iPad and had my first play with StageMix and I'm impressed, the iPad approach definitely seems to be the way forward.

Any user experience of AirFader or StageMix would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Ade

I haven't used AirFader, but we have been using Stagemix  ( V2) on both M7 & LS9 pretty extensively, as well as VNC via laptop and via Ipad on a DM1000. The response and control offered by Stagemix on the Ipad has been very impressive...worlds ahead of the clumsiness of my HP TX2000 ( yes, I realize this is considered archaic now ). While you can't do as many functions in Stagemix as you can in StudioManager ( again, not yet used Airfader ) it does those functions very well. For smaller shows, the Ipad IS the monitor console on layer 33-64 of the LS9, and for larger shows, being able to tweak zones etc. is easier on the Ipad than lugging the touchscreen laptop around.

Chances are that you can pick up a 16 gB Ipad 1 used for much less than a usable touchscreen laptop and have a slicker, albeit in some ways less powerful, control surface.
Logged

Matt Tudor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 91
  • NW Iowa.
Re: StageMix, AirFader or Remote desktop of Studio Manager?
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2011, 01:40:46 pm »

I use both Studio Manager and Stagemix on my gigs. I start with Studio Manager on the laptop because I find the Studio Manger interface better for doing things like patching, routing, and set-up stuff. Once the board is setup and the band is in, we've been switching to the Ipad because it's much easier to carry around stage than a laptop, and I prefer setting up mixes on the the StageMix faders than StudioManager's little bars. This leaves the laptop open for Itunes, WSM, and internet. FWIW I'm running Studiomanager on a Dell 5500 and just did the upgrade to Stagemix V2 for the Ipad2 this week.


I've been using Remote Desktop and Studio Manager sporadically for a couple of years or so, mainly for initial system tweaks, EQing groups etc. for corporate gigs when the mix position is compromised. It's OK, not a great interface but it's certainly better than nothing.

I just borrowed an iPad and had my first play with StageMix and I'm impressed, the iPad approach definitely seems to be the way forward.

I've seen AirFader on youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NEZ5XZarfLs&feature=related and it looks good but I haven't used it yet. I've also just ordered a new laptop today.

Now I have a dilema. Should I update my laptop order to include a touchscreen option so I can use AirFader, save up for a iPad and have yet another thing I have to find space in a bag for, or carry on using Studio Manager?

Any user experience of AirFader or StageMix would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Ade
Logged

Scott Helmke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1400
Re: StageMix, AirFader or Remote desktop of Studio Manager?
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2011, 07:29:37 pm »

I've been using a little netbook with a USB knob - Griffin "Powermate", discontinued but generally available on Amazon.  Not quite as elegant to carry around as an iPad, but the knob (mapped to "scroll wheel") will control whatever knob or slider the mouser pointer is on.  Makes it very easy to dial up monitor mixes and tweak EQ, and I already owned the netbook.
Logged

Mike Moore

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: StageMix, AirFader or Remote desktop of Studio Manager?
« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2011, 06:35:18 pm »

If I'm reading correctly you say you've used StageMix to remote control a DM1000. Does this actually work? And which stagemix app is it that you're using?

Please explain. Thanks!
Logged

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6569
  • Audio Plumber
Posting Rules
« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2011, 07:33:56 pm »

If I'm reading correctly

Please go to your profile and change the "Name" field to your real full name as required by the posting rules clearly displayed in the header at the top of the section, and in the Site Rules and Suggestions in the Forum Announcements section, and on the registration page when you registered.

Mac
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Posting Rules
« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2011, 07:33:56 pm »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.052 seconds with 25 queries.