ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Need in-ear suggestions for six musicians, no budget for Aviom.  (Read 8720 times)

Matt Sisco

I'm tech at a very high energy church in Detroit.  It's time to bring down the stage levels significantly so that FOH can be reasonable.  There is probably no way that we can afford more than a grand right now for the job.  Right now it's six aux mixes into wedges from an Allen & Heath GL2200.  Instrumentally, I have compressor/gate inserts on the kick, snare and bass guitar. 
I generally feel comfortable running in-ear mixes from the board, since I have lots of experience doing it for a working band that I also take care of.  The big difference is that there's a revolving cast at the church day by day.  My fear of doing this is that FOH is quite a ways away from the stage.  It would be very easy to miss a distress call. 
I'm looking for a few things:
-Suggestions or leads on any reliable system, new or used, that does what an Aviom system does, and is in our ball park for price.
-Recommend a stage-controlled monitor system/board that is simple enough to be run by a musician and is within our price range.
-Alternate suggestions that include ears

Jordan Wolf

Re: Need in-ear suggestions for six musicians, no budget for Aviom.
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2011, 11:56:51 PM »

Check out the HearBack system. It's wired (gasp) and has its limitations, but it makes a great system if you understand and work within them.  The units are ABS plastic, so they need to be handled more carefully than the metal Aviom units.  Also, there are no presets, but it is left up to each user to dial in their own mix (can be a blessing and a curse).  Just make sure they use earphones or headphones that provide enough isolation and actually sound good.