ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Electronic Drums or Acoustic Drums  (Read 30452 times)

Taylor Phillips

Re: Electronic Drums or Acoustic Drums
« Reply #30 on: February 03, 2011, 10:11:57 PM »

Those cymbals are a fascinating concept.  I wonder how loud the cymbals are unamplified and how those omni-directional mics that are made to pick up such a quiet source are going to interact with stage full of instruments and voices.

I've never tried this before with an electric kit, but has anyone tried localizing the amplification of the kit actually at the kit?
I think this would probably give you the worst of both worlds rather than the best.  I've done it kind of like that, with a monitor on stage loud enough for the musicians to hear without putting much of the kit through the wedges, but not with the intention of the monitor being the primary source of the kit sound.  Stage volume would be just as loud as an acoustic kit with a decent drummer, anyway.  You would have the exact same amount of control over the pieces of the kit as you would running direct to FOH - that's going to depend on how many outputs the module has either way. 

Anyway, why has no one mentioned staging?  That can have a pretty big impact on how things sound.

Johnathan Larsen

« Reply #31 on: February 03, 2011, 11:06:30 PM »