ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Two Mains and Two subs with one amp?  (Read 3583 times)

lukeschoeny

Two Mains and Two subs with one amp?
« on: June 16, 2011, 06:25:18 PM »

Hi Guys. I am a young aspiring audio engineer, And I am currently piecing together a PA for my band (im the drummer).  I currebtly have two 15" mains that are 250 watts rms, 500 program. Also a Samson SA3200 amp for them (750 wpc @ 8ohms and 1100wpc @ 4ohms).
Now I have a homemade 15" subwoofer (4ohm, and probably about 300watts, no internal crossiver) and I would like to build another one.

Obviously the amp has adequate power for the mains and I want to know if I could run the two subs of the same samson amp.  I know that I could run the mains in parallel of one channel and the subs the other, using a rackmount crossover between the mixer and amp. But idealy I would want to run the system in stereo.. Any idea how I could do that with just the one amp? passive crossover between the amp and speakers/subs?

Thanks!

David Parker

Re: Two Mains and Two subs with one amp?
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2011, 07:06:09 PM »

Hi Guys. I am a young aspiring audio engineer, And I am currently piecing together a PA for my band (im the drummer).  I currebtly have two 15" mains that are 250 watts rms, 500 program. Also a Samson SA3200 amp for them (750 wpc @ 8ohms and 1100wpc @ 4ohms).
Now I have a homemade 15" subwoofer (4ohm, and probably about 300watts, no internal crossiver) and I would like to build another one.