ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Electrical Question  (Read 2014 times)

Teddy Murphy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 76
Electrical Question
« on: June 08, 2011, 03:18:53 pm »

Ok, I currently travel with my own distro but it has a 50 amp breaker as the main and my feeder cable is 8awg.  I currently power the following with it:

1-Crown MA12000i
2- Crown MA3600vz
1-Crown XTI1000

3-Crown XTI 2000 (monitors)
2-Outboard Racks
1-Yamaha mc32x12
1-Soundcraft GB4 40
And run 2 15 amp circuits to the stage.

I have not had a problem with losing power with this set up yet.  The question is, do you think that I have enough left to run another MA12000i?  I have ran my 1 off of a 20 amp breaker on numerous occasions without any problems.
Logged

Marlow Wilson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 102
  • Ottawa/Montreal CAN
Re: Electrical Question
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2011, 03:57:28 pm »

my own distro has a 50 amp breaker as the main and my feeder cable is 8awg

This would be my first concern.  Google 8/4 soow ampacity.

The next question:

What are the loads on each amp?
« Last Edit: June 08, 2011, 04:00:24 pm by Marlow Wilson »
Logged

Geoff Doane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 870
  • Halifax, NS
Re: Electrical Question
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2011, 03:58:42 pm »

Ok, I currently travel with my own distro but it has a 50 amp breaker as the main and my feeder cable is 8awg.  I currently power the following with it:

[snip]

I have not had a problem with losing power with this set up yet.  The question is, do you think that I have enough left to run another MA12000i?  I have ran my 1 off of a 20 amp breaker on numerous occasions without any problems.

My gut feeling is that you'd be OK, but why don't you get a clamp on ammeter, measure the distro under load, and find out for yourself.  You also want to try and balance the load as best you can (I'm assuming you are using a 4-wire distro here).

And if you're doing things by the book, 8 AWG is really too small for 50A, especially if you're running any distance.  Also, unless the feeder is quite short (under 5m?) you need to protect the feeder on the upstream side, not just at the distro itself.

GTD
Logged

Marlow Wilson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 102
  • Ottawa/Montreal CAN
Re: Electrical Question
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2011, 04:07:48 pm »

Here are the AC draw sheets for your amps:
Logged

Teddy Murphy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 76
Re: Electrical Question
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2011, 10:49:44 pm »

When I had the distro built, it was built by a state electrical inspector.  He said that the 8/4 wire would handle 50 amps for as short of a run as I have.  It is only about 40 feet.  I do have a breaker on the end in the breaker box as well.  Most rooms that I have, don't have a disconnect, so I have an electrician on sight to hook me in so that I keep myself out of trouble. 

Thanks for the power draw sheets.
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Electrical Question
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2011, 10:49:44 pm »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.034 seconds with 22 queries.