ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Avid SC48 and Apple Logic 8  (Read 11424 times)

Corbin Prosche

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Avid SC48 and Apple Logic 8
« on: May 20, 2011, 03:04:17 pm »

Can you use the SC48 as a interface, or do you have to use ProTools?
Logged

Josh Bessom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
    • Lazy Preacher
Re: Avid SC48 and Apple Logic 8
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2011, 03:17:07 pm »

Can you use the SC48 as a interface, or do you have to use ProTools?

I believe with the SC48 you're stuck with ProTools.  With the other Venue options you can add the MADI card for IO with any DAW.  That ProTools exclusivity is partially what drove me to another console...
Logged

Sheldon Radford

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
    • Avid VENEU Home Page
Re: Avid SC48 and Apple Logic 8
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2011, 06:07:41 pm »

Can you use the SC48 as a interface, or do you have to use ProTools?
Sure, SC48 can act as an interface for Pro Tools via the Core Audio driver.

Also, with the release of Pro Tools 9 any ASIO/COre audio interface can be used with Pro Tools, up to 32 simultaneous I/O.

Sheldon Radford
Avid
Logged

DavidTurner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 318
Re: Avid SC48 and Apple Logic 8
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2011, 10:15:27 pm »

Can you use the SC48 as a interface, or do you have to use ProTools?

My Profile/Mixrack works with Logic Express 8. You have to install the Avid driver.
Logged

Corbin Prosche

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Avid SC48 and Apple Logic 8
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2011, 09:56:49 pm »

Where would I get the driver?



My Profile/Mixrack works with Logic Express 8. You have to install the Avid driver.
Logged

DavidTurner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 318
Logged

Sheldon Radford

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
    • Avid VENEU Home Page
Re: Avid SC48 and Apple Logic 8
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2011, 12:01:09 pm »

Hi Corbin,
Where would I get the driver?
The latest CoreAudio drivers can be found here:
http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/selfservice/search.jsp?DocId=379411

Scroll down to the "Pro Tools FireWire Device Drivers" section and follow the links beneath "VENUE FWx FireWire Option Card Drivers". The FWx card is built off of the 002 and 003 series drivers, so the CoreAudio driver included with that package work for FWx.

Sheldon Radford
Avid
Logged

DavidTurner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 318
Re: Avid SC48 and Apple Logic 8
« Reply #8 on: May 26, 2011, 11:57:33 pm »

I installed the newer v9 driver today and hosed my installation. It no longer recognizes that I am connected to the Profile.  I'll have to get through the show tomorrow without it. I don't need the Logic connection so much, but the console won't talk to SpectraFoo any more either... Good thing I have a time machine back-up at home. I think I was using v7.42 before.
Logged

Sheldon Radford

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
    • Avid VENEU Home Page
Re: Avid SC48 and Apple Logic 8
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2011, 01:10:54 am »

Hi David,

Not sure what could be happening here. Best contact the support team so they can track this and look into it.

Email:
venuesupport(at)avid(dot)com

Sheldon Radford
Avid
Logged

DavidTurner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 318
Re: Avid SC48 and Apple Logic 8
« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2011, 04:02:15 pm »

Thank you Sheldon.

Hi David,

Not sure what could be happening here. Best contact the support team so they can track this and look into it.

Email:
venuesupport(at)avid(dot)com

Sheldon Radford
Avid
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Avid SC48 and Apple Logic 8
« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2011, 04:02:15 pm »


Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.046 seconds with 22 queries.