ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Where to read up on setting up delay speakers  (Read 6682 times)

Keith Humphrey

Where to read up on setting up delay speakers
« on: May 19, 2011, 07:23:23 PM »

My band played an outdoor benefit last year at Duke University and provided the PA. I have been asked to provide the PA again this year (for pay).

Last year the PA worked fine for music across the area but I received some complaints about speeches and announcements  not being heard in the back. To remedy this I plan to use some delay speakers about 2/3 of the way back when someone is speaking. I have never done this before and was wondering if there is something I can read to learn how to set up the delay, etc.

Thanks.

g'bye, Dick Rees

• Duluth
Re: Where to read up on setting up delay speakers
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2011, 08:49:21 PM »

My band played an outdoor benefit last year at Duke University and provided the PA. I have been asked to provide the PA again this year (for pay).

Last year the PA worked fine for music across the area but I received some complaints about speeches and announcements  not being heard in the back. To remedy this I plan to use some delay speakers about 2/3 of the way back when someone is speaking. I have never done this before and was wondering if there is something I can read to learn how to set up the delay, etc.

Thanks.

1.  How deep is the sound field?
2.  How high did you (can you) position your mains?
3.  Did the speakers actually speak directly and strongly into the mic?

Delay speakers won't help someone who is mic shy.  And you need to have your speakers at least 7' in the air, more depending on conditions/layout.

That said, sound travels at 1,126 ft/sec @ 68 degrees F.  Simple math will give you your delay in milliseconds.  75' / 1126 fps = .0666 sec