ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Hi-Hat mic ? anybody using a dynamic ?  (Read 20037 times)

Brad Gibson

  • Marketplace
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
    • Capital A Productions
Re: Hi-Hat mic ? anybody using a dynamic ?
« Reply #10 on: May 03, 2011, 08:15:27 pm »

I often use a Sen 609...  Works for me....
Logged
To be a trusted, valued and, respected, leader by being fair, fun, confident and honest.

Rob Gow

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 424
Re: Hi-Hat mic ? anybody using a dynamic ?
« Reply #11 on: May 03, 2011, 08:20:18 pm »

Im shopping for a good Hi-Hat mic. Im trying to use all dynamics on the drum kit. Already going with (2) Heil PR30's for overheads. Any suggestions ?

I just use e604's on all the toms, and it generally picks up enough of the  cymbals to not need a specific.

Logged

luis Markson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 295
  • Just keep going....
Re: Hi-Hat mic ? anybody using a dynamic ?
« Reply #12 on: May 03, 2011, 09:28:16 pm »

I've read that the Heil PR35 works well. Switchable HPF and awesome off axis rejection.
Logged

Russel Murton

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 64
    • RPM Audio
Re: Hi-Hat mic ? anybody using a dynamic ?
« Reply #13 on: May 04, 2011, 01:26:25 am »

I've read that the Heil PR35 works well. Switchable HPF and awesome off axis rejection.

If I'm not using overheads I'll put on an AKG SE391b, two of which I usually use for OH's.

If I'm using overheads I'll use a Rode M3.

The Rode M3 is also nice as an under snare for more relaxed music like jazz. The normal combo of 57 on top and 57A on bottom also goes well.
Logged

Frederik RosenkjŠr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 472
Re: Hi-Hat mic ? anybody using a dynamic ?
« Reply #14 on: May 04, 2011, 10:47:52 am »

Use whatever you have.  You know at the end of the night no one in the audience is going to say " I loved the band, but the high hat sucked."

Rim shot!!!!!

Then you weren't at a gig with a Beatles cover band from the Czech Republic here in Denmark last summer....

Seriously, great band, great vocal harmonies - high hat about 15 dB above anything else for as long as I cared to stay - which was at least 10 minutes.
Logged
Affiliations: Danley Sound Labs, Yamaha (MI)

Chuck Simon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1139
  • Pittsburgh, Pa.
Re: Hi-Hat mic ? anybody using a dynamic ?
« Reply #15 on: May 04, 2011, 11:06:34 am »

Quote
Then you weren't at a gig with a Beatles cover band from the Czech Republic here in Denmark last summer....


You are correct!  I have never seen a Beatles cover band from the Czeh Republic in Denmark! ;D
Logged

Brian Simmons

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
Re: Hi-Hat mic ? anybody using a dynamic ?
« Reply #16 on: May 04, 2011, 01:48:29 pm »

Thanks for the suggestions all , I think Ill just stick with an i5 for now.
Logged

George Dougherty

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 724
Re: Hi-Hat mic ? anybody using a dynamic ?
« Reply #17 on: May 04, 2011, 11:01:49 pm »

Thanks for the suggestions all , I think Ill just stick with an i5 for now.
I'll second the EWI condensers.  Bought two 300C pairs for $130/ea so I've got stereo overheads, highhat and a spare.  I position it toward the rim just past halfway back from the drummer and point it straight down.  I've never had a drummer ask for hat in the monitors unless he's on IEM's so feedback has never been a problem.  The beasts are cheap, good sounding for the price, and they're built solidly.
Logged

Dave Dermont

  • Forum Moderator
  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 366
  • From The Great Pocono Northeast
Re: Hi-Hat mic ? anybody using a dynamic ?
« Reply #18 on: May 04, 2011, 11:12:40 pm »

Thanks for the suggestions all , I think Ill just stick with an i5 for now.

An i5 should be just fine of the HiHat.

Once upon a time, I used an SM56 regularly on hats

You've got really good OH mics, so you're all set for the minimalist mic technique if that ever moves you.

...and what's this I hear about people saying stuff like "it's just the HiHat". There are no unimportant inputs.

If it were unimportant, it would not be an input.
Logged
Dave Dermont

Warning: Dates on calendar may be closer than they appear

Chuck Simon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1139
  • Pittsburgh, Pa.
Re: Hi-Hat mic ? anybody using a dynamic ?
« Reply #19 on: May 05, 2011, 12:39:26 am »

Quote
If it were unimportant, it would not be an input.

That's a beautiful thought, but most of us have to make choices where we spend our money and a high hat mic can't be that high in the list.  That's why it can come down to "use what you got".  And really, don't you think an i5 fits into the "use what you got"  categorie?
« Last Edit: May 05, 2011, 12:59:46 am by Chuck Simon »
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Hi-Hat mic ? anybody using a dynamic ?
┬ź Reply #19 on: May 05, 2011, 12:39:26 am ┬╗


Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.065 seconds with 22 queries.