ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Mixing Monitors on PM5D  (Read 12912 times)

Thomas Bishop

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 119
Re: Mixing Monitors on PM5D
« Reply #10 on: April 27, 2011, 10:19:59 pm »

Without having to assign graphic EQs to the UDKs, if you go into the GEQ display, then each graphic EQ will follow the selected mix that the respective EQ is inserted on.

Good to know, thanks!
Logged

Steven Gibbs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: Mixing Monitors on PM5D
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2011, 08:26:44 pm »

A few things I like to do when I set-up a PM5D for Monitors;

First up, I usually head over to Utility->Preferences and turn on Recall Confirm, nothing worse than putting something on the keyboard and recalling a scene before you've saved up!

When I'm doing monitors I turn on the Mix->Sel Link and under the Monitor page is Cue->Sel link. I don't know how useful this is for you if you're not using flip to faders, But for those who do use flip to faders, the selected mix will follow which ever bus you are cuing. Great!

Other nifty tricks; Cue/Monitor on Fader (ST A/ST B),

When you are in a GEQ page, if you want to assign the GEQ to the center fader bay, you can hold the SHIFT key and push A/B/C/D/E etc to quickly jump to the bands you are after...

Just remember, there's a few different ways to achieve the same thing on this console, so experiment and find what you are most comfortable with!

A lot of this stuff is just my preference when I'm doing monitors on the 5D. Hope all the shows go/have gone well!


I did a search and didn't find anything, but I feel like this has to have been discussed before.  Please point me in the right direction if it has.  Anyway...

I'll be mixing monitors on the 5D later this month and am looking for some pointers.  I'm fairly comfortable mixing FOH on it if it's been setup ahead of time and I'm "fluent" on the M7 and LS9, both monitors and FOH.  I'll read the manual and download the OLE but in the meantime any pointers would be much appreciated.  It will be at a festival so everything will be preset, both wedges and IEM's.  Thanks!
Logged

Palmer Johnston

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: Mixing Monitors on PM5D
« Reply #12 on: May 06, 2011, 04:36:19 pm »

I absolutely LOVE mixing monitors in sends to fader mode.  It took me a little while to get comfortable with it, but once I did, there was no turning back. 
Logged

John Neil

  • SR Forums
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
Re: Mixing Monitors on PM5D
« Reply #13 on: May 06, 2011, 07:35:20 pm »

Don't forget what the channel mutes do (and don't do) when you're in sends on faders mode.  Number one observed mistake when I tech a console.

Also, fader flip on udk 25... the one usually reserved for the tap delay.  That way you don't have to reach across the desk for your most common keystroke.
Logged

peter dakin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 210
Re: Mixing Monitors on PM5D
« Reply #14 on: May 07, 2011, 11:21:55 am »

Don't forget what the channel mutes do (and don't do) when you're in sends on faders mode.  Number one observed mistake when I tech a console.

Also, fader flip on udk 25... the one usually reserved for the tap delay.  That way you don't have to reach across the desk for your most common keystroke.

That my friend, is brilliant and not one I knew! Why hasn't a tech told me that before? (Only done one-off white glove shows on PM5d's)
My IEM's have a short leash (when without a pack) and i'm sometimes in danger of choking myself trying to reach the fader flip button!

I like to add custom channels to the custom fader banks, you can normally get a whole performer and key channels onto one bank (i.e. A=GUITARIST: guitar, acoustic, vocal, BV's, FX, TB and TTS). Bit like (emphasis on the bit!!) doing pop groups on the XL8/pro6.
Same goes for assigning instrumentation, A=Drums, B=Perc & Bass C=Guitars, D=Keys etc...
I also sometimes like to assign ch25-48 onto banks as well, so I can have 32ch's on the top layer, rather than flipping to 2nd layer.
Whatever the show dictates really.. that's why its a great machine, several ways of doing the same job, to suit the engineer.
Logged

Galvin Pavlov

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: Mixing Monitors on PM5D
« Reply #15 on: May 09, 2011, 06:15:02 pm »

I hate flipping. Not having to flip will free up a hand and that would a good thing. So with encoders in 'Mix Send' mode I would just leave the console in post, set faders to zero and send to mixes via encoder. Then I won't have to flip to eq a channel (I admit its easy to accidentally eq a mix). 

I wish we had had more graphics to insert. I hope they update that or something. Graphics on DCA are a must on monitors. Just REMEMBER to choose the mix you need to eq from your user define keys!! Or else you will eq the last chosen graphic, which can easily be a disaster. They don't link. At least I can't get mine to. Oh yeah,,Don't waste the 3 minutes I did looking for how to flatten a band on the graphic, just press the DCA bank button.

Pressing hi/lo eq buttons together on the parametric flattens it too.
Rememeber to set your channels so they link from left to right/odd to even only on the 5D.

Disengage your eq to screen view once you comfortable so you don't forget to use your ears in the digital world!!


I thought about replying, but there's at least 3-4 different ways to mix monitors on a PM5D, and I'll use them all throughout a show. To spend a couple hours typing up a response on how to do that would be difficult, especially when you've only touched the desk a couple times and don't REALLY know how it works:

My suggestion is to find someone who is very comfortable on the desk and have them walk you through mixing monitors on it. Either that, or do as Tim said and leave the encoders in Mix Send mode, NOT Mix Master mode. Then, as you select the channel, you can dial up the mixes as you would on an analog desk.
Logged

Danny J. Avila

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • This Land is doomed...
Re: Mixing Monitors on PM5D
« Reply #16 on: May 09, 2011, 10:57:32 pm »

...Graphics on DCA are a must on monitors...

 ???
Logged
Never take freedom for granted.

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21009
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Mixing Monitors on PM5D
« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2011, 12:33:27 am »

I did a search and didn't find anything, but I feel like this has to have been discussed before.  Please point me in the right direction if it has.  Anyway...

I'll be mixing monitors on the 5D later this month and am looking for some pointers.  I'm fairly comfortable mixing FOH on it if it's been setup ahead of time and I'm "fluent" on the M7 and LS9, both monitors and FOH.  I'll read the manual and download the OLE but in the meantime any pointers would be much appreciated.  It will be at a festival so everything will be preset, both wedges and IEM's.  Thanks!

So, Thomas, how did things go?  What helped, what didn't, and what would you do differently?  How was the provider's tech, a help or.. not so much?
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Doug Fowler

  • Member since May 1995, 2nd poster on original LAB, moderator on and off since 1997, now running TurboMOD v1.826
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1720
  • Saint Louis, MO USA
Re: Mixing Monitors on PM5D
« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2011, 12:38:11 pm »

???

Easy, just insert the GEQ on the DCA, same way you would on an analog console VCA.... 

 ::)
Logged
"It's got electrolytes.  It's got what plants crave."

Brad Harris

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 121
Re: Mixing Monitors on PM5D
« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2011, 02:09:03 pm »

....  When you are in a GEQ page, if you want to assign the GEQ to the center fader bay, you can hold the SHIFT key and push A/B/C/D/E etc to quickly jump to the bands you are after...


Awesome, figured there was a way to get there w/out the initial key/mouse over and click.

My tip that I learned a while back was dragging graphs over to copy (in GEQ overview), real timesaver.
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Mixing Monitors on PM5D
« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2011, 02:09:03 pm »


Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.074 seconds with 23 queries.