ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Multi-track recording from a digital desk  (Read 2187 times)

Kevin Lewins

Multi-track recording from a digital desk
« on: September 26, 2009, 07:45:54 AM »

Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum.

I am currently a in charge of the sound for a church in the north east of england, I have been volunteering for around 2 years now and have learned most of what I know from forums like these.

We have a Roland M400 digital desk which we have been using for around a year now. I have been recording through an auxiliary mix with the on board usb capability and cd. This works reasonably well however it is difficult to get the mix right as I am trying to sort the mains out at the same time. We can't set everything the same each week as we have different musicians every time.

We probably use around 20 channels each week and if I were to use the multi tracks I would need to play with them at home.

Roland recommend taking a cat5 cable out of the desk straight into a pc with cakewalks sonar installed. I don't know anything about this, so I can make an informed decision on buying this software.

Would anyone recommend this or would some other method be better?

Thanks

Kevin

Dan Costello

Re: Multi-track recording from a digital desk
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2009, 11:18:10 AM »

Roland & Cakewalk are part of the same company.

From this page, it looks like this multitrack recording will only work with Sonar, since it's Cakewalk wrote the driver for a proprietary Roland protocol.

Others with some experience may be able to offer other suggestions, but from what I can see of that board, this is your only option w/o buying a bunch of extra equipment.

-Dan.
Dan Costello

"Well, I've been to one world fair, a picnic, and a rodeo, and that's the stupidest thing I ever heard come over a set of earphones.."

Mike Galica