ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Video Help and understanding  (Read 3305 times)

Larry Ash

Video Help and understanding
« on: December 29, 2008, 10:13:42 PM »

OK gentlemen I am new to this video thing, so please, sorry teach me like a five year old LOL
I have CAT 5 ran all over this building and not being used so from what I have read I can send a single over cat five from a computer to a tv.  But hears my question will that carry sound, and if not, can I run regular cable (tv wire)  We are looking at putting the announcement, that is in the sanctuary on a another cp and broadcasting it on four different tv monitors through out the campus(different building) so what will I need to use and please remember I have a very small budget do to economical times!!

Brad Weber

Re: Video Help and understanding
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2008, 06:48:47 AM »

Larry Ash wrote on Mon, 29 December 2008 22:13

OK gentlemen I am new to this video thing, so please, sorry teach me like a five year old LOL
I have CAT 5 ran all over this building and not being used so from what I have read I can send a single over cat five from a computer to a tv.  But hears my question will that carry sound, and if not, can I run regular cable (tv wire)  We are looking at putting the announcement, that is in the sanctuary on a another cp and broadcasting it on four different tv monitors through out the campus(different building) so what will I need to use and please remember I have a very small budget do to economical times!!

In general, yes, you can send video and audio over a single UTP (CAT5/5e/6) cable provided you have the proper interface devices at both ends that support it.