ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 11   Go Down

Author Topic: New Sound System  (Read 38479 times)

Shad Hall

Re: New Sound System
« Reply #40 on: August 01, 2008, 05:46:52 PM »

Justin Rygel wrote on Fri, 01 August 2008 12:00

Quote:

Regarding speaker mounts, tripods seem to be popular, but as you can see, we are working with limited space. I don't want to hang them, because they could get in the way with the flat screen TV's (a thread on this is over on the H.O.W. A/V forums). I like the idea of mounting them on the side walls, but wonder about sound traveling the walls throughout the building. Thoughts?

This is a sticky subject and very few people here will recommend doing this without professional assistance by a structural engineer.  I am a structural engineer, although not in the entertainment industry, and I wholeheartedly agree.  If anything you have hanging from the walls or ceilings falls down and hurts someone (speakers are heavy), the church would be liable if you hung the speakers up yourselves.  If you have a professional install/rigging company do it, they would be liable, and they are insured against such things.  That being said, you might want to plan your purchases with this in mind.  First of all, I wouldn't worry about sound traveling through the walls via the mount.  Second, some speakers have mounting points built in and are designed to be hung, and some don't.  Of the speakers discussed so far, only the QSC HPR series have mounting points.  In addition, the HP122i has a conical distribution, so it doesn't make any difference if you mount in vertically or horizontally, so you could put a pair of these up horizontally hung from the ceiling, and they might be clear of the sightlines.  In any case, you might want to think about trying to get speakers that have mounting points so that you could hire someone to hang them in the future