ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Anyone replace faders on Soundcraft si series?  (Read 279 times)

Dave Guilford

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 134
Anyone replace faders on Soundcraft si series?
« on: February 17, 2019, 10:09:41 pm »

One of my expression mixers needs a fader replaced.  Thereís also one that feels like itís on its way out too.  So Iím doing them both.

Anyone open these mixers up?  Is this going to be a huge pain the ass? Or just the regular pain in the ass that I expect?   Tough to get to? 

I couldnít find any YouTube videos or walkthroughs.   
Logged

Steve M Smith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3109
  • Isle of Wight - England
Re: Anyone replace faders on Soundcraft si series?
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2019, 04:00:00 am »

I have an Si compact but haven't changed faders yet.  I did look into changing faders on an X32 for someone.  Looks easy.  I doubt it's any more complex on an Si.


Steve.
Logged

Will Knight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 239
Re: Anyone replace faders on Soundcraft si series?
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2019, 05:47:54 am »

I have both the Expression 1 and Impact.  The Impact-no issues on faders but recently notice one (Fader 9) on SI1 acting a bit jittery when switching between layers.  Haven't considered replacing it yet but keeping an eye on it. Should be straightforward
Logged

Steve M Smith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3109
  • Isle of Wight - England
Re: Anyone replace faders on Soundcraft si series?
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2019, 09:53:48 am »

I have one fader on an Si compact which is acting strange.  When showing the graphic equaliser positions, it doesn't return to zero when I press the red illuminated button which shows a non zero position.  If I move it a bit, it returns to zero after the button is pressed.

It has no problem moving positions when selecting any other layers.


Steve.
Logged

Dave Guilford

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 134
Re: Anyone replace faders on Soundcraft si series?
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2019, 05:05:24 pm »

I have one fader on an Si compact which is acting strange.  When showing the graphic equaliser positions, it doesn't return to zero when I press the red illuminated button which shows a non zero position.  If I move it a bit, it returns to zero after the button is pressed.

It has no problem moving positions when selecting any other layers.


Steve.

Thatís what mine started as.  Now... ka-put
Logged

Steve M Smith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3109
  • Isle of Wight - England
Re: Anyone replace faders on Soundcraft si series?
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2019, 03:06:14 am »

Thatís what mine started as.  Now... ka-put

I had better buy a couple of spares then!


Steve.
Logged

jeff grocki

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 25
Re: Anyone replace faders on Soundcraft si series?
« Reply #6 on: Today at 08:40:32 am »

I did 1 on my compact 24 when I had it. 10 mins. I opted to solder the connections on the fader rather than on the board. I am ipc certified, but if you are comfortable with the iron no problem. I think i still have a couple more faders.

Jeff


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.055 seconds with 24 queries.