ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Worship CD recording idea...LONG  (Read 1850 times)

Jonathan Umfleet

Worship CD recording idea...LONG
« on: January 21, 2007, 05:35:27 PM »

Ok guys here's the plan...tell me how crazy I am.

I've been a sound engineer at my church for many years. I've just recently discovered GB3 and I love it. We've been using a Sony MDM-X4 4 track mini-disc recorder at our church (mostly just to record the sermons). We've got a Mackie SR32.4 for a mixer. One thing I just recently tried was recording 4 tracks onto the church mac GB through a Presonus Firebox and another four tracks onto the mini-disc. Then I took a cd copy of the GB project and mini-disk home and mixed away to my hearts content with 8 real instrument tracks and I've been surprised at how good it sounds (not my mixing, just the sound quality).

So the 8 real instrument tracks consist of lead vocal, 2 background vocals on a single track, bass, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano and then one track for snare and overhead for the drums and the last track is for kick drum and toms for the drums.

For GB plugins, I'm using PSP Vintage Warmer, Inspector, and Metric Halo Channel strip.

So the idea is to record our worship team performing 12 to 15 songs and make a CD for the congregation (probably burn 500 CD's). Mechanical licensing fees are 9.1 cents per song per CD. So after duplication, some basic artwork for a cover, I'm just estimating the CD's will cost about $5 a piece.

My goal is to get a final result that sounds maybe 80% professional with 20% of the cost.

Is this workable? I know it sounds like a tall order but what do you guys think?

What big things am I missing?
Love one woman, many mics

Handy Brent

Re: Worship CD recording idea...LONG
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2007, 01:42:00 AM »