ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Recording variety of music  (Read 915 times)

rbtakemoto

Recording variety of music
« on: October 10, 2006, 09:56:58 pm »

I'm a total newbie to all of this so stay with me :)

I was roped into organizing and recording a church Christmas CD that will feature members of the congregation and be distributed to the whole congregation at Christmas. I'm a musician but not a sound/recording engineer by ANY stretch! Luckily noone expects this to be at all professional - just a nice momento. I would like it to sound decent, though!

I am working with the M-Audio Fast Track Pro and MXL 990/991 mics. I've figured out how to get a basically good recording of my own voice + piano but the problem is that I'll be recording a huge variety of musicians. I guess my biggest question is --- when recording a group of singers (one group is small choir of app. 20 people and one ensemble of about 8) accompanied by a piano and I only have 2 mic inputs... what's the best way to set up the mics???? For the ensemble I assume I should just gather the singers in a semi-circle around one mic and have the 2nd mic at the piano but for the choir - will one mic be enough? I'm worried that the condensor mic won't pick up 20 singers but would it be better to have the 2 mics in a central location and just pick up the total sound (choir + piano)?

Sorry for the long post and thanks for any help!

Ira White

• http://www.sanctuarysound.com
Re: Recording variety of music
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2006, 11:02:34 pm »

With just two mics and two inputs, I would shoot for a natural stereo pickup of everything. Having essentially a mono recording of only two points would be poor indeed.