ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: New Projection System/Comments/Suggestions?  (Read 13249 times)

Mike Yates

New Projection System/Comments/Suggestions?
« on: September 27, 2006, 11:23:17 AM »

I am new to projection but have researched it heavily for the last few months...I think I've finally put together what were looking for.  I am posting to see if anyone has any suggestions or comments on this system before I bite the bullet and have it installed.

My original intent was to go 16:9 folks said material for 16:9 was not as plentiful as the 4:3 material...so I kinda got stuck on the 4:3 while researching and put out for bids.  But the more research I did it became apparent that there was enough material out there and 16:9 was the way to go.  I couldn't find any suitable projectors until the EIKI LC-4W was recommended by a consultant.  The projector will mount from the ceiling about 23' from the 16' screen (can't long throw).  Here's the system:

COST: $23,000 (installed)

EQUIPMENT:

EIKI LC-4W 4,700lum Projector http://www.projectorcentral.com/EIKI-LC-W4.htm
EIKI AH-32501 Short Throw Lens Power Zoom & Focus 1.42" ~ 1.97"
Kramer VP-724xl Switcher/ Scaler
Extron DVI Extender
Da-Lite 106" x 188" Cosmo Electrol Screen w/RF remote

COMPUTER:

(computer is about $2,800 of the system cost w/the monitors)
Power Supply: Thermaltake 550W
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz (1066MHz Front Side Bus) (4MB Cache) (Conroe)
Motherboard: Asus P5B (Chipset: Intel P965)
Memory: 2GB DDR2 Super Talent at 1066MHz (Dual Chan.) (Extreme-Performance)
Hard Drive 1: Western Digital 320GB (16MB Cache) (7200 RPM) (SATA II)
Hard Drive 2: Western Digital 320GB (16MB Cache) (7200 RPM) (SATA II)
Raid Option: Setup my two hard drives in a Raid 0 Stripe
Optical Drive 1: Lite-On CD-R/RW/DVD-ROM (CD Writer 52x / DVD Reader 16x Combo) (Includes Nero)