ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: FM Phic Ear and Loop System  (Read 939 times)

John Poaps

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
FM Phic Ear and Loop System
« on: August 20, 2006, 08:39:41 PM »

I just finished installing a new system in our Church I have a Mackie CR1604 Board.  I managed to get the phonic ear device going but I am not sure where I should connect the Loop System to.  We have a few people in our church that use the FM system and some people prefer the loop.  There was a 1/4 plug that plugged into the old amp and I don't know where to plug it into the Mackie Board.  The system components are a CR 5 Amp, ACL2 Compressor/ Limiter/Gate, ART Equalizer, FM Phonic Ear System.  I have used the aux connection # 3 on the Mackie Board for the Phonic Ear.  There are 2 more that are free and I am not sure if that is where the loop system would plug in.  I would appreciate any help on this.  Thanks,  John Poaps Razz  
Logged

Rob Warren

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 148
Re: FM Phic Ear and Loop System
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2006, 01:20:16 PM »

A loop inductions system (if that's what you are talking about)
has to be plugged into an amp to be energized.
(If I remember correctly)

You could use that same old amp and feed it a signal
and plug the loop back where it was in the old amp.
IF you can feed it the same signal you are using for the
FM ears.  This way you don't have to mix a whole separate mix.

IF you do not have the amp then you will need to find out
how many watts it was and how it was setup.  
It was probably just one channel being used but I do not remember how many watts you need.  If you need this kind of info
either contact your manufacturer or try to post this on the contractors/installers forum on this site.

hope this helps and hope you still have the old amp.
   
Logged
Rob

John Poaps

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: FM Phic Ear and Loop System
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2006, 08:27:17 PM »

Hu There

Yes I have the old amp and it is still connected to the loop.  The signal came from an aux connection on the old peavey amp and we dont have that anymore.  I am wondering if I can Y connect one of the aux yo send a signal to the loop amp.  As all 4 aux are used on the Mackie CR 1604.  Any thoughts on Y connecting one of the aux sends.  Has anyone done this before ?

Thanks,  John
Logged

Rob Warren

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 148
Re: FM Phic Ear and Loop System
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2006, 01:55:20 PM »

my guess is that it should work.
You may have to mess with the input level of the amp.

sorry it took me so long to check this.  how's it going?  
Logged
Rob

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: FM Phic Ear and Loop System
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2006, 01:55:20 PM »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.113 seconds with 23 queries.