ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Lighting Dimmers = Buzz in Sound System. HELP!!!  (Read 18336 times)

Jason R. Callahan - CSS

Lighting Dimmers = Buzz in Sound System. HELP!!!
« on: March 13, 2006, 12:18:29 AM »

I've recently installed a system in a new construction church. The challenge is, as we fired up the new system this week, it appears the church lighting system w/dimmers is causing a buzz in the system.

After some troubleshooting, there is no question it's the dimmers. Turning the lights off totally resolves the problem. As the dimmers are turned up, so is the level of the buzz in the system.

I've explained to the electrician the challenge, which he then shared with me he wasn't sure how to fix? Nice!

I specified in the proposal that the audio/video would need to be totally isolated. Didn't happen. Although I'm no electrician, I explained that the dimmers were causing the challenge and they needed to be isolated from the audio circuits in the panel.

I'm meeting with the electrician this week. From talking to a buddy of mine that's just starting out in the electrical field, he suggested...

1. Moving the audio circuits to the other leg
2. Creating an isolated ground for the audio circuit.

I'm not for sure what the fix is, but ANY suggestions that I can share with the electrician to resolve this are much appreciated!!!

Kind Regards,
Jason
Jason R. Callahan
Church Sound Solutions
PO Box 433
Charleston, IL. 61920
www.churchsoundsolutions.com

BigEarsVA

Re: Lighting Dimmers = Buzz in Sound System. HELP!!!
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2006, 12:25:57 PM »

Ahhh.. yes, electricians.  

What you are getting is mostly from a grounding problem.  The best option is to move the audio circuits to another panel with an isolated ground.  It should be a real ground not something tied to a neutral.  I've seen that done more times than I can count.