ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: EAW 222 acceptable wedge for tour?  (Read 6097 times)

Steven Barnes

• SBTS Inc.
EAW 222 acceptable wedge for tour?
« on: April 14, 2011, 11:43:56 PM »

Hey Guys
I am getting ready to head back out on tour in a couple weeks for a couple week run in south america. I got an interesting email from our PM, saying that one of our stops is supposed to have a bunch of EAW 222 wedges for us and 850's for sidefills. I don't mind the 850's, but I have never used the EAW 222 before. Do any of you guys have any experience with these wedges? We are usually carrying a bunch of D&B M2's and J8's for sidefills. How will these wedges compare to the D&B stuff, if there is anyway to compare them. Music is pretty loud rock, with a lot of stage volume, depending on the show.

http://www.eaw.com/info/EAW/Loudspeaker_product_info/Legacy_Loudspeakers/SM_series/SM222.pdf

Thanks
Steven
Audio Engineering, Design, Consulting
SBTS Inc.
www.sbts-inc.com

Jay Rigby

Re: EAW 222 acceptable wedge for tour?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2011, 03:21:06 AM »

Hey Steven,

We have 30 SM222's and I have to say they are one of the loudest wedges out there (bi-amped) and there's tons of punch from the dual 12's too.  The only reason you don't really see the too often is that they are HUGE!  But you shouldn't have any problem getting them plenty loud.  I'd be more worried about the 850's compared to your J8's!

DavidTurner

« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2011, 12:01:45 AM »

With the right power and processing, you can peel paint with those things.

Hey Guys