ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Advice on new speakers  (Read 2958 times)

Corey Beam

Advice on new speakers
« on: February 11, 2006, 02:42:10 PM »

My church is in the buying market for speakers for our new sanctuary.  I have 3-4 years of sound experience and am the one who is "in charge" of sound now at our church.
Here's my dilemma:  we are now willing to spend about $1500 for speakers for the sanctuary (60' deep, 70' wide).  We can get some "Proel tflv" series speakers for $750 each. (  http://sound.proelgroup.com/sound/en/product.jsp?id_prod=111 10609827350) But they have a 70x70 horn and we only need a 40deg vertical horn.  Are we better off buying something more specific to our acoustical needs in terms of dispersion, or buy these if they are a good buy?  I don't want to buy us problems down the road.  Our band has 4 singers, guitars, bass, drums, congas and will be used for vocals for sermon as well.
Do you have suggestions for close to this amount of money?

Corey
Corey Beam

Ivan Beaver

Re: Advice on new speakers
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2006, 04:47:36 PM »

I wouldn't worry to much about the 70* dispertion.  By the look of the photo (assuming the horn is 5" wide), it will have pattern control down to around 2800Hz.  Below that, it will start to become omni.  I don't know where the crossover is, but at 2800Hz the spacing of the 12's is going to cause a problem.

If you want to have 40* dispertion, to any type of low freq (say 500 Hz) you will have to have a fairly large horn.  The narrower the pattern, the larger the horn has to be to maintain control to a specific freq.

BTW, a 40* horn of the same size, will have control down to around 5KHz and then start to loose control.

I cannot comment on the feasability of this speaker, without knowing anything abou your room.
Can I have some more talent in the monitors--PLEASE?