ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Range plug to L 14-30  (Read 595 times)

Kemper Watson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 716
  • Woodstock GA
Range plug to L 14-30
« on: June 19, 2024, 05:14:19 PM »


 One of my venues has a 50 amp 4 wire range plug that Ive been using for years with a small panel broken down into two 20 amp breakers running the two main power amps. I just bought a new Motion Labs rat pack with an L 14 - 30 imput. What would happen if I just made a short tail down to an L 14-30 and plugged it into the Rac Pac. I could probably get someone to swap out the breakers and the plug but was hoping to just make up a cable and be done.. Any one see a real issue ?
Logged

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4328
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: Range plug to L 14-30
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2024, 08:56:05 PM »

One of my venues has a 50 amp 4 wire range plug that Ive been using for years with a small panel broken down into two 20 amp breakers running the two main power amps. I just bought a new Motion Labs rat pack with an L 14 - 30 imput. What would happen if I just made a short tail down to an L 14-30 and plugged it into the Rac Pac. I could probably get someone to swap out the breakers and the plug but was hoping to just make up a cable and be done.. Any one see a real issue ?
As long as your venue has a correctly-wired 4-wire 14-50 receptacle, making an adapter for 14-50P -> L14-30R is reasonably safe; there is a theoretical risk of overheating your adapter cable if you have enough over-subscribed demand on your rat pack circuits that are more than 30A/leg continuous draw but not enough to trip the 50A breaker, but that's probably not a likely scenario unless you are trying to max out your circuits with incandescent PAR64s.

You would not want to use any 3-wire receptacle such as a 6-50 as your source power, as you don't want to bond neutral and ground anywhere except at the building service entrance.
Logged

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7780
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Range plug to L 14-30
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2024, 11:14:28 PM »

One of my venues has a 50 amp 4 wire range plug that Ive been using for years with a small panel broken down into two 20 amp breakers running the two main power amps. I just bought a new Motion Labs rat pack with an L 14 - 30 imput. What would happen if I just made a short tail down to an L 14-30 and plugged it into the Rac Pac. I could probably get someone to swap out the breakers and the plug but was hoping to just make up a cable and be done.. Any one see a real issue ?


We have tons of those short punts.  That's what I have always heard them called.  Just make sure you are not combining neutrals.  You also want to make sure the overcurrent is covered if the downstream inlet is a lower value.



Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Kemper Watson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 716
  • Woodstock GA
Re: Range plug to L 14-30
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2024, 06:18:28 AM »


We have tons of those short punts.  That's what I have always heard them called.  Just make sure you are not combining neutrals.  You also want to make sure the overcurrent is covered if the downstream inlet is a lower value.
 
  It's a fairly new properly wired range plug. No bonded neutrals. No more than two power amps running a rig at about 100 db or so. Never came close to popping the 20 amp breakers on my other distro.
Logged

Kemper Watson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 716
  • Woodstock GA
Re: Range plug to L 14-30
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2024, 06:23:18 AM »

 





As long as your venue has a correctly-wired 4-wire 14-50 receptacle, making an adapter for 14-50P -> L14-30R is reasonably safe; there is a theoretical risk of overheating your adapter cable if you have enough over-subscribed demand on your rat pack circuits that are more than 30A/leg continuous draw but not enough to trip the 50A breaker, but that's probably not a likely scenario unless you are trying to max out your circuits with incandescent PAR64s.

You would not want to use any 3-wire receptacle such as a 6-50 as your source power, as you don't want to bond neutral and ground anywhere except at the building service entrance.






Its a 4 wire outlet and the will be two amps running a PA who's level never goes above 100 db. Jazz show. We dont even see yellow lights on the console. LED lights are on two  completely separate L 5-30 outlets..
« Last Edit: June 20, 2024, 06:30:20 AM by Kemper Watson »
Logged

John Schalk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 643
Re: Range plug to L 14-30
« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2024, 09:27:31 AM »

One of my venues has a 50 amp 4 wire range plug that Ive been using for years with a small panel broken down into two 20 amp breakers running the two main power amps. I just bought a new Motion Labs rat pack with an L 14 - 30 imput. What would happen if I just made a short tail down to an L 14-30 and plugged it into the Rac Pac. I could probably get someone to swap out the breakers and the plug but was hoping to just make up a cable and be done.. Any one see a real issue ?
You can buy these pretty cheaply.  I picked up this one to go along with an L14-30 to two 20-amp circuits cable (with breakers) that I bought.  This gives me a couple of options for getting dedicated circuits depending on the power available at the venue. 

https://www.amazon.com/Cable-Matters-Prong-Adapter-Generator/dp/B076ZTWL4K
Logged

Brian Jojade

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3568
    • HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: Range plug to L 14-30
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2024, 02:28:04 PM »

What kind of protection does the Rat Pack have in it?  If it's got a 30 amp mains breaker, then there's no issue at all.  If it doesn't have a mains cable, you want to determine what gauge wire was used inside.  If there's a #6 coming out of the connector to the distro block, you just need to make sure to use a #6 feeder cable and adaptor.  Yeah, the connector may be stamped at 30 amps, but the pins on the 30 amp and 50 amp are the same, just a different configuration.

Worst case scenario, if you want to do it absolutely correctly, would be to make an adaptor that goes into a breaker box that has a 30 amp breaker which then feeds your rat pack.
Logged
Brian Jojade

Kemper Watson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 716
  • Woodstock GA
Re: Range plug to L 14-30
« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2024, 05:58:57 PM »

What kind of protection does the Rat Pack have in it?  If it's got a 30 amp mains breaker, then there's no issue at all.  If it doesn't have a mains cable, you want to determine what gauge wire was used inside.  If there's a #6 coming out of the connector to the distro block, you just need to make sure to use a #6 feeder cable and adaptor.  Yeah, the connector may be stamped at 30 amps, but the pins on the 30 amp and 50 amp are the same, just a different configuration.

Worst case scenario, if you want to do it absolutely correctly, would be to make an adaptor that goes into a breaker box that has a 30 amp breaker which then feeds your rat pack.

   It has 4 circuits. Each its own breaker. Two 30 and two 20's
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Range plug to L 14-30
« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2024, 05:58:57 PM »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.017 seconds with 20 queries.