Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums > LAB: The Classic Live Audio Board

Seeking Advice to set up a solution to broadcast live events with 16 languages

(1/3) > >>

davidhello:
Hello everyone,

I'm David Hello, and I'm based in the UK. I work as a software developer for a charity, and they've asked me to look into broadcasting our live events. I don't have much experience with sound and video hardware, so I could really use some help.

Here's what we're trying to do:

We have up to 16 audio tracks (using XLR connections). One track is for prayers, which needs to be broadcasted on all audio channels, another is for the English speaker, and the rest are translations.
We have an HDMI video signal coming from a camera.
Our goal is to broadcast this live, with a player that allows viewers to switch between languages.

I've managed to set this up using OBS as the broadcasting software, a Behringer UMC1820 sound card with multiple inputs, and streaming platforms like Castr and Clevercast. I also use an SRT stream with ffmpeg in OBS (here's an explanation of the setup.)

However, there are some limitations. I can only broadcast in 6 languages (or 12 with Clevercast, as it supports 2 languages per stereo channel) because OBS can only handle 6 output tracks. I've looked into VMix and Wirecast, but they don't seem to support more languages either.

So, I'm considering using hardware instead. Since I don't have much experience and the equipment is pricey, I want to make sure I get it right. That's why I'm seeking advice from experienced folks.

Here's my plan:

1) To mix the prayers with the other audio channels: I'm thinking of using an audio mixer (like the Behringer X32).
2) To convert the XLR to SDI: I found this converter, and I'd need 4 of them to handle 16 audio channels.
3) To convert the HDMI to SDI: I'm looking at this converter.