ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Looking for console and wireless mic recommendations  (Read 1671 times)

Tsun Gwing-Kai

Looking for console and wireless mic recommendations
« on: May 20, 2024, 11:00:24 PM »

Newbie here and working with my first PA.

I realized I probably should’ve posted here instead of the Lab, as I’m a beginner and starting out.

Was recommended to pick up an X32/M32 and learn as the skills would port to another console easily.

I’ve had limited experience with digital mixers, and hope the M32R or M32Live (is the only difference fader count?) can be a good foundation to teach me mixing.

Current uses would be small bands (drum kit, keyboard, a few vocals, and maybe a backing track).  These are all friends with day jobs and none of us are professional musicians.

Also looking for some wireless mic recommendations.  If I go ULX-D, I can run Dante to a card on the mixer, but the cost to go QLX-D is much cheaper.

If I bypass the D/A and A/D conversion by going ULX-D, will the sound be much better, or is it a small (incremental) improvement?

Would I regret getting a few channels of SM58’s or B87A with the QLX-D (analog) receivers and then find as I grow, ULX-D was better long term?

PA would be QSC KW153 x2, likely a pair of Yorkville LS801p (or if I can swing it, 4x RCF SUB8004), and I’m using QSC K12.2 as monitors.

For someone that’s never mixed a live show on anything but cheap gear (Mackie ProFX, Yamaha MG, etc.) is the combo above too advanced and not “beginner friendly” enough?

I can use Dante Controller, set up a crossover, run an RTA, but my mixing skill is practically a fresh slate.

Also do want the PA to be able to grow as I do larger shows, bigger bands, and grow out of doing this for fun and actually getting real gigs.

Thank you,

Tsun Gwing-Kai

Brian Jojade

• HappyMac Digital Electronics