Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums > LAB: The Classic Live Audio Board

New to Live Sound and looking to get started in this wonderful industry!

(1/6) > >>

Tsun Gwing-Kai:
Greetings,

My name is Tsun Gwing-Kai and I'm located in the Midwest (but willing to travel to learn more about this industry).   I'm completely new to Live Sound and really want to get started working in the industry and learning more.  Although running a mixing console is still new to me...and I have very little real-world experience (took Jamie Anderson's SMAART Operator Fundamentals course in NYC as a starting point), I'm still astounded by the vast amount of knowledge necessary to put on a show & be successful.

So far all of my experience has been borrowing gear where I can, going to stores (such as Guitar Center) and asking to play with a console for an hour, trying to rent gear where I can, and understand the ins & outs of it.  I understand the difference between mic & line level, balanced & unbalanced, can pair a stage box using Dante Controller, but that's about it.  I don't have much hands-on experience short of throwing my own shows with friends that are interested in being "rock stars" but have never performed professionally.

My current PA consists of 2x QSC KW153 and some borrowed subs (sometimes JBL, McCauley, or whatever I can get my hands on, such as Yorkville or Peavey).  I don't have a DSP or crossover, but have borrowed DSPs ranging from Ashley to BSS Soundweb London (was super confusing to route & configure, I think I spent an hour getting that Blu-806DA to even pass audio!).  I'm not sure if I even need a DSP as the KW153's have crossover capabilities and so do many subs.  But I'd love to own one just to get my rig "dialed in".