ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help  (Read 2347 times)

Kelso Kline

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« on: March 05, 2024, 08:19:35 PM »

I recently acquired a couple of fp6400 amplifiers. The Oddity is that these are labeled on the back as the 115 volt version, but there is a piece of Gaff tape with 230v written on it. They all have the 30A locking connectors on them. When I connected one to 30A to 20a plug adapter and plugged it in, it Powers on, but the fuse protection light is on. Could these have been modified to 230v? How can I tell? Additionally, if I do plug it into a 230v line, could I cause serious damage or would the fuse protection activate?
Logged

Lee Douglas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 696
  • 47.662615, -116.756954
Re: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2024, 08:50:56 PM »

Just a heads up: Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums
Logged
This space for rent

Kelso Kline

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2024, 09:29:31 PM »


Just a heads up: Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums

All good now!
Logged

Lee Douglas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 696
  • 47.662615, -116.756954
Re: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2024, 11:35:36 AM »

I don't know much about that amplifier, but the link below discuss some things you might look for to see if it has been converted.  Hopefully, you didn't but the actual amp being discussed!

https://forums.prosoundweb.com/index.php?topic=1724.0
Logged
This space for rent

Kelso Kline

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2024, 11:55:50 AM »

I don't know much about that amplifier, but the link below discuss some things you might look for to see if it has been converted.  Hopefully, you didn't but the actual amp being discussed!

https://forums.prosoundweb.com/index.php?topic=1724.0

It's doubtful since there are 4 in total, but without sending it to a service center, I hope the link to the thread has some valuable information. Thank you!

Anyone have in depth experience with these Lamborghini powered Volvos?


Logged

Caleb Dueck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1738
  • Sierra Vista, AZ
Re: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2024, 03:29:37 PM »

I recently acquired a couple of fp6400 amplifiers. The Oddity is that these are labeled on the back as the 115 volt version, but there is a piece of Gaff tape with 230v written on it. They all have the 30A locking connectors on them. When I connected one to 30A to 20a plug adapter and plugged it in, it Powers on, but the fuse protection light is on. Could these have been modified to 230v? How can I tell? Additionally, if I do plug it into a 230v line, could I cause serious damage or would the fuse protection activate?

Do NOT plug it into 230V unless you are absolutely sure it's the correct model.  We did that once (mislabeled amp) and created an immediate smoke machine. 

They're good amps still, not my first choice for subwoofer duty.  The lack of universal voltage was one of the small reasons why we switched (to Powersoft and then Linea).
Logged
Experience is something you get right after you need it.

Kelso Kline

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2024, 03:44:09 PM »

Do NOT plug it into 230V unless you are absolutely sure it's the correct model.  We did that once (mislabeled amp) and created an immediate smoke machine. 

They're good amps still, not my first choice for subwoofer duty.  The lack of universal voltage was one of the small reasons why we switched (to Powersoft and then Linea).
This is my concern as well! I've taken some internal pictures, but I don't see any jumpers, nor do I see any sloppy soldering work to give the indication that it has been worked on. My goal is to confirm that these are usable, then have them serviced. Being that there's only five service centers in the US, and every one of them is over 500 miles away from me, I'd like to know that these are operational beforehand.
Logged

Lee Douglas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 696
  • 47.662615, -116.756954
Re: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2024, 07:24:59 PM »

Caleb, I thought those amps had over voltage shut down on them?  Kelso, can you share the pictures you took?
Logged
This space for rent

Kelso Kline

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2024, 08:26:52 PM »

Caleb, I thought those amps had over voltage shut down on them?  Kelso, can you share the pictures you took?
Sure!

Lab Gruppen fp6400 amplifier https://imgur.com/gallery/dTbX5gu

https://imgur.com/gallery/YVFAQqw
« Last Edit: March 07, 2024, 08:50:41 PM by Kelso Kline »
Logged

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7792
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2024, 10:01:50 PM »

Sure!

Lab Gruppen fp6400 amplifier https://imgur.com/gallery/dTbX5gu

https://imgur.com/gallery/YVFAQqw


That link doesnt work, do you have the permissions set right? 


If you don't want to deal with these amps and would rather get something with autovoltage I will take them off your hands. 
Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Kelso Kline

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2024, 07:47:45 AM »


That link doesnt work, do you have the permissions set right? 


If you don't want to deal with these amps and would rather get something with autovoltage I will take them off your hands.
I have the galleries set to public. There are 12+ views already. Is anyone else finding issue with the links that I posted?
Logged

David Morison

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 826
  • Aberdeen, Scotland
Re: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2024, 08:56:00 AM »

I have the galleries set to public. There are 12+ views already. Is anyone else finding issue with the links that I posted?

Both are returning 404 - not found errors right now.

Re the original question, are you not able to communicate with whomever you acquired them from? That would presumably be the most direct way of finding out.
Logged

Kelso Kline

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2024, 10:35:56 AM »

Both are returning 404 - not found errors right now.

Re the original question, are you not able to communicate with whomever you acquired them from? That would presumably be the most direct way of finding out.

Oh! I didn't realize that! Can someone inform me of the proper way to post images or links on this site? I attempted to do it through the attached image, but it only allows up to around 500 kb. I ran it through Imgur.com instead and made my gallery public in hope that this work. Is there another route that I can take?
Logged

Kelso Kline

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« Reply #13 on: March 08, 2024, 10:55:52 AM »

Unfortunately, I am not able to communicate with the previous owner. That would have made this a whole lot easier!
Logged

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7792
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« Reply #14 on: March 08, 2024, 05:35:14 PM »

Oh! I didn't realize that! Can someone inform me of the proper way to post images or links on this site? I attempted to do it through the attached image, but it only allows up to around 500 kb. I ran it through Imgur.com instead and made my gallery public in hope that this work. Is there another route that I can take?


You want to use the site imgbb.com once you upload the image select BBCODE and then paste that little code fragment into your message.  Like magic you can do slideshows and very large pics with a preview.   
Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Kelso Kline

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« Reply #15 on: March 09, 2024, 09:19:19 AM »


You want to use the site imgbb.com once you upload the image select BBCODE and then paste that little code fragment into your message.  Like magic you can do slideshows and very large pics with a preview.

Great! How about this..
https://ibb.co/RTtGLhw
https://ibb.co/f1DS4hV
https://ibb.co/StkXHWJ
https://ibb.co/8MWfKMs
https://ibb.co/stt4RY9
https://ibb.co/sjFxhpX
https://ibb.co/nb560Kj
https://ibb.co/hDd9b54
https://ibb.co/7zyKFyg
https://ibb.co/VwJKn35
https://ibb.co/P6JP4X1
https://ibb.co/rmtjqhw
https://ibb.co/bPYTdqG
Or..

« Last Edit: March 09, 2024, 09:23:46 AM by Kelso Kline »
Logged

Riley Casey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2132
  • Wash DC
Re: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« Reply #19 on: April 18, 2024, 04:10:15 PM »

I have not had occasion to make that conversion but from the looks of the service manual the primary change is in the flyback PSU board. If you can find that board marking the designations are on this list. The only problem I ever had with the Lab 34/6400s we stocked were the 10000ufd filter caps on the SP80 board. Several of those caps failed over the course of twenty years and we always replaced them in pairs. Might be worth checking those as well.

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Lab Gruppen fp6400 conversion help
« Reply #19 on: April 18, 2024, 04:10:15 PM »


Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 



Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.063 seconds with 20 queries.