ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: DMX>0-10 installed lighting  (Read 1238 times)

Stephen Swaffer

DMX>0-10 installed lighting
« on: February 12, 2024, 12:28:23 PM »

I am a licensed electrician-but my church contracted a building (I didn't bid as I have a different day job right now.)  Unfortunately, the master that designed the building installed 8 amp rated 0-10 volt dimmers on 13 amp zones in the gym-obviously they didn't last long.  Ultimately our goal was to convert and allow the dimming to be incorporated into a DMX system for events.  Given I need to replace a dimmer and really hate how much garbage they stuffed into the box  the time to make it like we want is now.  I know Northlight made interfaces-they are no longer around so what is the best way?  I will likely convert the existing box to switches, there is a path to get dimmer lines to a utility room just need the DMX interface.
Steve Swaffer

Dave Garoutte

• San Rafael, CA
Re: DMX>0-10 installed lighting
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2024, 01:23:38 PM »

I am a licensed electrician-but my church contracted a building (I didn't bid as I have a different day job right now.)  Unfortunately, the master that designed the building installed 8 amp rated 0-10 volt dimmers on 13 amp zones in the gym-obviously they didn't last long.  Ultimately our goal was to convert and allow the dimming to be incorporated into a DMX system for events.  Given I need to replace a dimmer and really hate how much garbage they stuffed into the box  the time to make it like we want is now.  I know Northlight made interfaces-they are no longer around so what is the best way?  I will likely convert the existing box to switches, there is a path to get dimmer lines to a utility room just need the DMX interface.