ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Connected ground required for all lighting fixtures?  (Read 5345 times)

David Allred

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1904
Connected ground required for all lighting fixtures?
« on: January 10, 2024, 09:19:00 AM »

The fixtures are ADJ Mega Hex Par x4 on a T-bar.  These have a plastic housing and use IEC power inlets.  The supplied power cables are bulky and stiff.  I what to clean up the current routing scheme and use SJ cable for the tie-in drops along the bar to allow more flexibility.  For increased flexibility and reduction in build time I would like to use 2 conductor SJ.  Is there an actual reason to need the ground for these fixtures?
Electrical Danger?
DMX malfunction?

Thanks,
David

Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23936
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Connected ground required for all lighting fixtures?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2024, 09:46:28 AM »

The fixtures are ADJ Mega Hex Par x4 on a T-bar.  These have a plastic housing and use IEC power inlets.  The supplied power cables are bulky and stiff.  I what to clean up the current routing scheme and use SJ cable for the tie-in drops along the bar to allow more flexibility.  For increased flexibility and reduction in build time I would like to use 2 conductor SJ.  Is there an actual reason to need the ground for these fixtures?
Electrical Danger?
DMX malfunction?

Thanks,
David

If equipped with an equipment grounding connection, then use a grounded 3 conductor cable.  I'm not sure any of us are willing to speculate in an open forum.

Logged
"If you're passing on your way, from Palm Springs to L.A., Give a wave to good ol' Dave, Say hello to progress and goodbye to the Moonlight Motor Inn." - Steve Spurgin, Moonlight Motor Inn

Daniel Levi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 662
Re: Connected ground required for all lighting fixtures?
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2024, 10:19:23 AM »

If it has a 3 prong inlet connetor then you use 3 core cable to a proper 3 prong/earthed connectors, no iffs or buts, though if you could guarntee the lack of a earth (it could be a technical earth for RFI supression) and change the connetors to a two prong version you could then use two conductor cable, but it would not really be worth it.
Logged

Brian Jojade

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3562
    • HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: Connected ground required for all lighting fixtures?
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2024, 12:02:58 PM »

Will it work with 2 conductor cable? Yes.  Is it a good idea to ignore ground? Nope.

Ground conductors are there for unexpected failures.  While the risk is small, failures can result in DEATH.  Is it worth saving a couple mm of cable for that risk??
Logged
Brian Jojade

Stephen Swaffer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2681
Re: Connected ground required for all lighting fixtures?
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2024, 12:31:36 PM »

At my day job, one of the first questions asked when discussing a safety question is "What does the manufacturer say?"  In this case, "they" said it needed a ground and put a 3 wire cord on it-so that has to be the answer, for liability reasons if nothing else.
Logged
Steve Swaffer

Dave Garoutte

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3439
  • San Rafael, CA
Re: Connected ground required for all lighting fixtures?
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2024, 01:06:11 PM »

you can probably use a fairly light gage, as the current draw is pretty low.
Logged
Nothing can be made idiot-proof; only idiot resistant.

Events.  Stage, PA, Lighting and Backline rentals.
Chauvet dealer.  Home of the Angler.
Inventor.  And now, Streaming Video!

David Allred

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1904
Re: Connected ground required for all lighting fixtures?
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2024, 01:56:30 PM »

you can probably use a fairly light gage, as the current draw is pretty low.

Probably going that route.  22 awg rates for 3 amps, only requires  1/4 amp max per drop.  Even if I need to piggyback thru a fixture in a pinch, I'll have plenty of power available.
Logged

John Roberts {JR}

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17209
  • Hickory, Mississippi, USA
    • Resotune
Re: Connected ground required for all lighting fixtures?
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2024, 07:34:21 PM »

Are you asking about ignoring the "equipment safety ground"? 

What could possibly go wrong?

JR
Logged
Cancel the "cancel culture". Do not participate in mob hatred.

Steve-White

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1635
  • Fort Worth
Re: Connected ground required for all lighting fixtures?
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2024, 12:56:55 AM »

Are you asking about ignoring the "equipment safety ground"? 

What could possibly go wrong?

JR

+1 on this one - do not omit ground wire.  Never ever.
Logged

Chris Hindle

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2740
  • Montreal, Quebec, Canada, Earth, Sol System,......
Re: Connected ground required for all lighting fixtures?
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2024, 08:51:38 AM »

You can be sure that if the manufacturer didn't NEED to use 3 wire, they would have used 2.
To me, it's as simple as that. Liability, safety, and insurance issues down the road are a scary thing to deal with if you don't have to.
Chris.
Logged
Ya, Whatever. Just throw a '57 on it, and get off my stage.

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Connected ground required for all lighting fixtures?
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2024, 08:51:38 AM »


Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Up
 



Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.018 seconds with 18 queries.