ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Crown I Tech 6000 question  (Read 559 times)

Jose Peralta

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Crown I Tech 6000 question
« on: September 18, 2023, 04:39:08 PM »

Hi, I will be getting a Crown I Tech 6000 to power to 2 pairs of CV subs. I have read that this has a adjustable input sensitivity as well as gain setting.  I will be using a Driverack PA2 to set the setting for the subs. My question is, can I have a higher input sensitivity or should I set the gain knob where I can have the power output I need? Really I just need around 1500@4 ohms for a pair of subs per side. The IT 6000 specs has a rating at 3000 per ch at 4 ohms.
Logged

Art Welter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2152
Re: Crown I Tech 6000 question
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2023, 06:21:48 PM »

My question is, can I have a higher input sensitivity or should I set the gain knob where I can have the power output I need?
Jose,

The Crown IT 6000 front panel attenuators have a range from 0 to 100 dB.
The power output is not determined by the setting of the front panel attenuators.
The Driverack PA2 has a max output level of +20 dBu.
The  I Tech 6000 has a max input level of +21 dBu at the lower input sensitivity setting, so would not clip at the maximum output level of the Driverack PA2.

You can set the amplifier's maximum power/voltage output level with the amplifier's Clip Limiter, Peak Voltage Limiter, and Average Power Limiter to a level appropriate for your subs.

Art
Logged

Brian Jojade

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3137
    • HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: Crown I Tech 6000 question
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2023, 06:57:58 PM »

Did you get the iTech 6000 yet?  I'm pretty sure repairs on those is no longer an option. When they die, there's no warning and your investment is gone.  Unless you got a GREAT price on it, I'd consider other options.
Logged
Brian Jojade

Jose Peralta

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Crown I Tech 6000 question
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2023, 09:14:37 PM »

Jose,

The Crown IT 6000 front panel attenuators have a range from 0 to 100 dB.
The power output is not determined by the setting of the front panel attenuators.
The Driverack PA2 has a max output level of +20 dBu.
The  I Tech 6000 has a max input level of +21 dBu at the lower input sensitivity setting, so would not clip at the maximum output level of the Driverack PA2.

You can set the amplifier's maximum power/voltage output level with the amplifier's Clip Limiter, Peak Voltage Limiter, and Average Power Limiter to a level appropriate for your subs.

Art

Thanks for the reply.
Logged

Jose Peralta

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Crown I Tech 6000 question
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2023, 09:17:50 PM »

Did you get the iTech 6000 yet?  I'm pretty sure repairs on those is no longer an option. When they die, there's no warning and your investment is gone.  Unless you got a GREAT price on it, I'd consider other options.
Thanks for the reply Brian. I am aware of the risk and yes I got a great deal on it which is from a friend. These have counter hours on it.  What would be the life span on these models?
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23404
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Crown I Tech 6000 question
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2023, 10:08:58 PM »

Thanks for the reply Brian. I am aware of the risk and yes I got a great deal on it which is from a friend. These have counter hours on it.  What would be the life span on these models?

I got 8 IT 8K out of an installation, they had 6000-8000 hours on them.  I presume they were  powered on any time the facility was open.

I had reservations about the original ITechs but we owned 4 dozen or so for our VerTec rigs anyway.  IIRC we sent 3 to Crown for in-process mods and ribbon cable replacements.  The consensus in 2007 was any I Tech that was still alive and working correctly was likely to stay alive, and my experience reflected that.  Others may have different observations, but over all our shop had good results.

Like the investment disclaimer, ".... past performance is not a guarantee of future returns...", YMMV.

There is a whole lot going on insdie ITech processing, a printed dump of all user-adjustable (via Audio Architect software) parameters was several pages.  Art W mentioned the max input level and IIRC +21 is the default.  Input sensitivity is menu selectable, with a fixed-gain option of +26dB, which is what JBL/Crown used for the touring loudspeaker presets.  If you use the internal crossover functions, you have pass-band output level up to +10dB, too.  Lots of places to add/not add gain. ;)
Logged
"Art has always held a tenuous position between acts of subversion and status symbol collected by those who profit from the very status quo the art purports to subvert." - Stephen Colbert

Brian Jojade

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3137
    • HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: Crown I Tech 6000 question
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2023, 11:31:00 PM »

Thanks for the reply Brian. I am aware of the risk and yes I got a great deal on it which is from a friend. These have counter hours on it.  What would be the life span on these models?

I don't know what the hours expectancy is, but I have now talked to 3 separate small ops that had 3 units each, and both said all of their amps died within weeks of each other.  I don't know the comparison of total hours comparison between the companies, but find it interesting that I've now heard the same story 3 different times!!
Logged
Brian Jojade

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23404
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Crown I Tech 6000 question
« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2023, 01:12:14 AM »

I don't know what the hours expectancy is, but I have now talked to 3 separate small ops that had 3 units each, and both said all of their amps died within weeks of each other.  I don't know the comparison of total hours comparison between the companies, but find it interesting that I've now heard the same story 3 different times!!

Like lemmings, jumping off the cliffs... ;)

There are some OG ITechs in club installs that are running 18 years later.   Not sure what explains either simultaneous, long distance failures, or anecdotal longevity. 8)
Logged
"Art has always held a tenuous position between acts of subversion and status symbol collected by those who profit from the very status quo the art purports to subvert." - Stephen Colbert

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7188
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Crown I Tech 6000 question
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2023, 03:35:14 AM »

Like lemmings, jumping off the cliffs... ;)

There are some OG ITechs in club installs that are running 18 years later.   Not sure what explains either simultaneous, long distance failures, or anecdotal longevity. 8)


Tim is right, anecdotal.  You can't really judge based on others experience either.  You sure don't need the peice of shit drive rack with all the processing inside the amp.


However unless they are practically giving you the amp you can get a Lab Gruppen FP6400 which has no brains in it (just remember as was already mentioned the knobs do not control the output power.  With sufficient drive an amp can clip with any input setting).  Then I would get a better processor.  If you like DBX the 360 is the least expensive I would purchase.  You can also look for used BSS, Lake or other high quality processors.  They all have a steep learning curve for setting up the DSP, even the turd in a punchbowl PA2.



Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Mike Monte

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 660
    • My website
Re: Crown I Tech 6000 question
« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2023, 08:22:42 AM »

Thanks for the reply Brian. I am aware of the risk and yes I got a great deal on it which is from a friend. These have counter hours on it.  What would be the life span on these models?

FWIW: I have three original series IT6000's and one IT8000.  All were purchased 15 to 20 years ago "as used" with warranty left on them (I called Crown to check the serial #'s before purchase).
After purchase, all were sent back to Crown (on their nickle) to update the ribbon cable issue, etc.
All have been bullet-proof to date.

Four years ago I purchased an IT5000HD as a factory refurb B stock unit for $1999.00.
The Crown dealer told me that it was pulled from a mall installation + sent back to Crown for cleaning/updates/etc.
When I purchased it, it had 24k+ hours on it...... It was probably left "on" 24/7 for years.

It works like a charm.

To point:
Hours on the clock may not be as important as what the amp has been doing during those hours....similar to purchasing a used truck with "highway" miles as opposed to the same truck used for "back road driving". 


Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Crown I Tech 6000 question
« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2023, 08:22:42 AM »


Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 



Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.027 seconds with 19 queries.