Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums > Installed Sound/Contracting

line arrays or speakers?

(1/2) > >>

Sophia Rodriguez:
Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner engineer, and I need your wisdom please :)

I need to get line arrays OR speakers (and subwoofers) for a dancing space.

The target crowd is dancers on the floor, NOT the audience on the risers.

The floor is made of wood. The walls are covered with acoustics tiles.

My options:
1) Put 2 or 3 line arrays+a subwoofer on each side, on the wall (can't install it on the ceiling). Marked as "OPTION A" in the diagram
2) Option 2: Put 4 speakers on the floor behind the curtain below the screen ("OPTION B"), and one subwoofer in the middle

My questions:
1) which option is better for the people who dance on stage (let's assume that a $1,000 up or down is not a consideration)?
2) Is there a way to mount line arrays+subwoofer on walls (and not on the ceiling)?
3) Assuming that I'm choosing line arrays, what is my next step before purchasing?
How can I calculate how many line array speakers I need?

*The pictures of line arrays/speakers/sub in the diagram are just for demonstration purposes.

Thank you very much!! :)

Sophia

Mike Caldwell:
Putting the speakers on the floor with the exception of the subwoofer would be a bad idea. No one would hear any mids of highs when the floor fills up and people are standing in front of the  speakers.

Brian Jojade:
1. Option B is horrible. People in the room will block the sound and it will be a mess. Behind the curtain will be even worse, unless the curtain is acoustically transparent.  Doesn't appear to be so from the posted image.

2. Mounting a bracket on the wall certainly is an option, if the wall is structurally capable.  That's something that would require an onsite inspection or a blueprint to determine.  Same would hold true for hanging from the ceiling.