ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Projector/Screen "No Signal"  (Read 879 times)

Isaac South

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 364
  • Central Kentucky
Projector/Screen "No Signal"
« on: February 20, 2023, 08:12:38 AM »

I couldn't find a suitable forum for this.  Please move it, if necessary. 

Two pictures attached.  Our projector/screen at church is suddenly saying "No Source Found".  We unplugged our connection to the iMac and plugged it into a team members laptop and it connects to his laptop perfectly fine.  This leads me to believe it's NOT a hardware issue and seems like it's something within the iMac.

The only change we've made recently, is we updated to the newest version of Pro Presenter.  However, the screen worked fine for a couple weekends before suddenly saying "no source found".

Does anyone have any idea what would cause this?  The only thing I could think of is the ports on the iMac went bad.  But it seems unlikely that both of them went bad at the same time.  Any help is appreciated.  Thank you.
Logged

Scott Holtzman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6906
  • Ghost AV - Avon Lake, OH
    • Ghost Audio Visual Systems, LLC
Re: Projector/Screen "No Signal"
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2023, 09:32:34 AM »

I couldn't find a suitable forum for this.  Please move it, if necessary. 

Two pictures attached.  Our projector/screen at church is suddenly saying "No Source Found".  We unplugged our connection to the iMac and plugged it into a team members laptop and it connects to his laptop perfectly fine.  This leads me to believe it's NOT a hardware issue and seems like it's something within the iMac.

The only change we've made recently, is we updated to the newest version of Pro Presenter.  However, the screen worked fine for a couple weekends before suddenly saying "no source found".

Does anyone have any idea what would cause this?  The only thing I could think of is the ports on the iMac went bad.  But it seems unlikely that both of them went bad at the same time.  Any help is appreciated.  Thank you.


Check both ends of your cables, make sure you are sending signal and receiving signal.  Make sure connectors are well seated and screen is set to the right input.



Logged
Scott AKA "Skyking" Holtzman

Ghost Audio Visual Solutions, LLC
Cleveland OH
www.ghostav.rocks

Erik Jerde

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1326
Re: Projector/Screen "No Signal"
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2023, 10:00:23 AM »

What EXACTLY is your signal flow.  List every piece of equipment no matter how small between the computer and projector.   If something isnít built into the computer or projector it should be listed.  Be specific on what output port youíre using on the computer and what input port youíre using on the projector.  Which (exact) version of pro-presenter are you using?

When you say you unplugged from the iMac and plugged into another computer be specific on what was unplugged.  Macs these days often require an adapter to get to the video format used by the projector so Iím wanting to know if ALL the pieces used for the iMac were also used with the second computer or if some were changed.
Logged

Stephen Beatty

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 131
Re: Projector/Screen "No Signal"
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2023, 11:20:36 AM »

 How do you get the signal from the iMac to the projector? Is there a straight cable run? Are there other components in the path? What port are you using from the iMac? Have you tried another dongle?

 Have you tried using another cable and going into the projector directly? Does the iMac work now if you plug into a standard monitor or TV?
Logged

Isaac South

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 364
  • Central Kentucky
Re: Projector/Screen "No Signal"
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2023, 12:00:01 PM »

How do you get the signal from the iMac to the projector? Is there a straight cable run? Are there other components in the path? What port are you using from the iMac? Have you tried another dongle?

 Have you tried using another cable and going into the projector directly? Does the iMac work now if you plug into a standard monitor or TV?

(See pic below).  We have one of these FSR transmitters connected to the projector and one going into the iMac as you can see in the pic.  Going into a USB C port on the iMac.  We unplugged that USB C cable and plugged into another laptop and it connected fine.
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23093
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Projector/Screen "No Signal"
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2023, 12:06:22 PM »

(See pic below).  We have one of these FSR transmitters connected to the projector and one going into the iMac as you can see in the pic.  Going into a USB C port on the iMac.  We unplugged that USB C cable and plugged into another laptop and it connected fine.

Did the replacement laptop also have the ProPresenter update installed?

If everything worked, what changed?  That's were we start the trouble shooting.
Logged
"Art has always held a tenuous position between acts of subversion and status symbol collected by those who profit from the very status quo the art purports to subvert." - Stephen Colbert

Stephen Beatty

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 131
Re: Projector/Screen "No Signal"
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2023, 12:15:22 PM »

 Also we have had issues on campus with new Mac's using HDCP 2.2. We still have components in the signal chain that only handle HDCP 1.4. The Mac image shows up then goes away is what is the clue. Set the EDID for 1.4 the video card sees helps with that. The Mac desktop is HDCP protected. For a Mac user to use the lecture capture systems you need to use a VGA connection.

 That you are seeing now image is unclear as to what might be the issue. I have never worked with ProPresenter.

 
Logged

Brian Jojade

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2804
    • HappyMac Digital Electronics
Re: Projector/Screen "No Signal"
« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2023, 03:58:59 PM »

If you go into the display settings, does the mac show that it found a second display?  It's possible that the resolution ended up getting set to something that your projector can't handle.
Logged
Brian Jojade

Isaac South

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 364
  • Central Kentucky
Re: Projector/Screen "No Signal"
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2023, 08:10:04 AM »

If you go into the display settings, does the mac show that it found a second display?  It's possible that the resolution ended up getting set to something that your projector can't handle.

This is what it shows in display on the iMac.
Logged

Isaac South

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 364
  • Central Kentucky
Re: Projector/Screen "No Signal"
« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2023, 08:11:23 AM »

Did the replacement laptop also have the ProPresenter update installed?

If everything worked, what changed?  That's were we start the trouble shooting.
Tim the replacement laptop did not have PP installed.  But it connected to the projector/screen and was able to mirror the computer on it.  On our iMac, however,  it says "no source found".  Same cables, same exact connections.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2023, 09:15:39 AM by Isaac South »
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Projector/Screen "No Signal"
¬ę Reply #9 on: February 21, 2023, 08:11:23 AM ¬Ľ


Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 



Site Hosted By Ashdown Technologies, Inc.

Page created in 0.027 seconds with 18 queries.